Logo
  • 中 文 | English | Español
 

網路銀行

常見問答 – 支票21

根據「21世紀支票交換法」法案(支票21),聯邦法律允許銀行處理支票結算時,可將支票轉換為替代支票。這將使款項的交換更加容易和令支票結算過程更快,更安全。

 

支票21會否改變我簽發或接受支票的方式?
不會。您簽發和存入的支票將會獲得更快速的處理。
如果支票處理加快了,是否能讓我更快捷地取款呢?

我們對於保留及可用款項的時間是按預計存款項目的清算處理時間而定。支票21並不能保證存入支票的款項將會加快取款時間。

我原本的支票將會怎樣?

在建立電子圖像後,您的支票正本會被“截短”或是從紙張支票託收過程中去除。在支票被截短或製成圖像後,支票正本將會很快被銷毀。電子圖像或會用作成建立“替代支票”的紙張版。

什麽是替代支票?

替代支票是一個法律認可的文件,擁有與支票薄簽發的支票的所有定權利和義務。替代支票是從支票正本所製成的電子圖像文件的副本。支票的正面和背面任何背書將會顯示。每張替代支票還包括一份聲明,指出它是原支票的合法副本:“這是你的支票的合法副本,你可以像原支票一般使用。”

是否所有支票影像都可以作為替代支票?

不是,只有符合替代支票要求的圖像才符合資格。一般顯示在打印紙上的圖像並不符合作為替代支票資格的。

我是否一定要接受代用支票作为付款证明?

是的。一旦支票被轉换成替代支票,它變成原支票的合法替代。任何银行或個人必須接受它,就像原本的支票一樣。

如需要出示支票的副本,例如為付款作證明時,我該怎麽辦?

國泰銀行為您提供的圖像可用作為付款的證明。

假若替代支票出現錯誤的情況時應怎麽辦?

支票21法案僅提供特定的重新入帳權利予消費者客戶。如果您認為替代支票不能準確地反映您的交易,應立即聯繫我們作研究和調查,並可能重新計入您的帳戶。

就替代支票然言,我有什麽權利?

在某些情況下,聯邦法規提供一個特別的程序,僅適用於消費者帳戶的替代支票計入。這讓您,作爲消費者,在替代支票過帳到您的帳戶有所損失要求退回款項,(例如,如果你認爲我們從您的帳戶中提取錯誤的金額或從您的帳戶中就同一張支票提取超過一次) 。從這個程序中,您有機會獲得有關損失的補償,可能包括從您的帳戶所提取的金額和因應有關提取所收取的費用。 (例如,非足夠的資金(non-sufficient funds)收費)。您的退款在該程序下的數額僅限於您的損失或替代支票的金額,以較少者為準。如果您的帳戶是一個計息帳戶,您有權對您的退款金額收取利息。如果您的損失超過了替代支票的金額,您或許可以根據其他的法律追討額外款項。如果您使用此程序,在10個工作日後,您可能會收到高達$ 2,500.00的退款(加利息,如果你的帳戶是有賺取利息的)。至於退款及剩餘部分(加利息,如果您的帳戶是有賺取利息),你會在我們收到投訴申請後不超過45天內收到。如果我們稍後確定替代支票存入您的帳戶時正確無誤,我們保留取消退款(包括退還利息)的權利。

我如何索取退款?

如果您認為您蒙受有關替代支票的損失,並且已被計入到您的帳戶,請聯繫您的開戶分行。您必須由我們郵寄(或您同意的其他方式)有問題的替代支票或帳戶結單,列明替代支票被計入到您的帳戶,的40日內與我們聯繫。如果你遇到特殊情況不能及時索賠,我們將延長這個時段。

您的要求,須以書面形式,并包括:

» 描述您為什麽遭受了損失。例如,你應為所提取的金額是不正確的;
» 您所估計的損失金額;
» 為什麽您收到的替代支票不足以解釋您蒙受的損失;及
» 替代支票的拷貝和/或以下的信息以幫助我們識識別有問題的替代支票:
   » 支票編號;
» 您所簽發支票的抬頭人姓名;
» 支票的金額

支付房屋貸款有困難?

支付房屋貸款
有困難?

我們可以幫助您!

詳情點此處
phoneIcon.png

1-800-9CATHAY

(1-800-922-8429)

客戶服務:週一至週五美國西岸時間上午六時至下午六時。

「國泰銀行一線通」提供24小時帳戶查詢服務。

謝 謝 您 瀏 覽 國 泰 銀 行 網 站

您現在將進入一個非我們管核的網站。

國泰銀行不能保證其他網站所提供的資料及建議是否正確。 國泰銀行亦不會對其他網站的資料保密及安全性負責。 我們建議您先了解此網站的資料保密政策然後再提供個人資料。

如對此網站或其提供之服務有任何投訴,請與我們聯絡:

Cathay Bank

Compliance Department

9650 Flair Drive EL-5-C

El Monte, CA 91731.

電 子 郵 件 通 信 是 不 安 全 的

當透過此網站向我們發出任何電子郵件時, 請不要包含敏感資料,例如賬戶號碼或非公開的個人資料,例如社會安全或稅務識別號碼。

Logo
  • 中 文 | English | Español
 

Online Banking

FAQs for Check 21

The Check Clearing for the 21st Century Act (Check 21) is a federal law allowing banks that process checks to convert them to substitute checks making the exchange of funds easier and the check clearing process faster and more secure.

 

Does Check 21 change the way I write or accept checks?
No. However, checks you write, and checks you deposit, may clear faster.
If a check clears more quickly, do I get my money sooner?

Our hold and availability schedules are based upon when we anticipate a deposited item to clear. Check 21 does not ensure that funds from deposited checks will be made available sooner.

What happens to my original checks?

When an electronic image is created, your original check is "truncated" or removed from the paper check collection process. The original check may be destroyed soon after it is truncated or imaged. The electronic image may be used to create a paper "substitute check".

What is a substitute check?

A substitute check is a legally sanctioned document, with all the rights and obligations given the original check written from your checkbook. Substitute checks are paper copies created from electronic images of original paper checks. The front and back of the check along with any endorsement will be shown. Each substitute check also includes a statement identifying it as a legal copy of the original check: "This is a legal copy of your check. You can use it the same way you would use the original check."

Do all check images qualify as substitute checks?

No, only images that meet the substitute check requirements qualify. The typical images produced on an imaged statement do not qualify as substitute checks.

Do I have to accept substitute checks as proof of payment?

Yes. Once a paper check is converted into a substitute check, it becomes the legal equivalent of the original paper check. Any bank or person must accept it as if it was the original check.

What happens if I need to show a copy of a check, such as for proof of payment?

The image that Cathay Bank provides you may be used as proof of payment.

What if there's an error involving a substitute check?

The Check 21 Act provides specific re-crediting rights for consumer customers only. If you believe the substitute check does not accurately reflect your transaction, you should contact us immediately for research and investigation, and possible re-crediting to your account.

What are my rights regarding a substitute check?

In certain cases, federal law provides a special procedure which applies to substitute checks charged to a consumer account only, allowing you as a consumer to request a refund for losses you suffer if a substitute check is posted to your account (for example, if you think that we withdrew the wrong amount from your account or that we withdrew money from your account more than once for the same check). The losses you may attempt to recover from this procedure may include the amount that was withdrawn from your account and fees that were charged as a result of the withdrawal (for example, non-sufficient funds (NSF) fees). The amount of your refund under this procedure is limited to the amount of your loss or the amount of the substitute check, whichever is less. You are also entitled to interest on the amount of your refund if your account is an interest-bearing account. If your loss exceeds the amount of the substitute check, you may be able to recover additional amounts under other law. If you use this procedure, you may receive up to $2,500.00 of your refund (plus interest if your account earns interest) within 10 business days after we received your claim and the remainder of your refund (plus interest if your account earns interest) not later than 45 calendar days after we received your claim. We may reverse the refund (including any interest on the refund) if we are later able to determine that the substitute check was correctly posted to your account.

How do I make a claim for a refund?

If you believe that you have suffered a loss relating to a substitute check that you received and that was posted to your account, please contact your Branch. You must contact us within 40 calendar days of the date that we mailed (or otherwise delivered by a means you agreed) the substitute check in question or the account statement showing the substitute check was posted to your account, whichever is later. We will extend this time period if you were not able to make a timely claim because of extraordinary circumstances.

Your claim must be in writing and include:

» A description of why you have suffered a loss. For example, you think the amount withdrawn was incorrect;
» An estimate of the amount of your loss;
» An explanation of why the substitute check you received is insufficient to confirm that you suffered a loss; and
» A copy of the substitute check and/or the following information to help us identify the substitute check in question:
   » Check Number;
» Name of the person to whom you wrote the check;
» Amount of the check

Mortgage Payment Problem

Mortgage Payment Problem?

We may be able to help you

Know More
phoneIcon.png

1-800-9CATHAY

(1-800-922-8429)

Customer service: 6:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time, Monday through Friday.

Automated information is available 24hours a day, 7 days a week.

Thanks for visiting the Cathay Bank Web Site!

You are about to leave the web site of Cathay Bank and enter into a site that is not controlled by us.

Cathay Bank does not endorse, sponsor or guarantee the information, content, presentation, accuracy or recommendations provided by the site. In addition, Cathay Bank is not responsible for the privacy practices or security of the site. You are encouraged to review the privacy policy of the Web Site before providing any personal information.

If you have any complaints regarding the site, or the service(s) offered, please contact us at:

Cathay Bank

Compliance Department

9650 Flair Drive EL-5-C

El Monte, CA 91731.

E-mail communication is not secure

Please do not include sensitive information such as account numbers or non-public personal information such as Social Security or Tax Identification numbers in any e-mail sent to us via this link.