跳转到主要内容

远瞻

评估您的人寿保险选择——您考虑过这些吗?

许多人了解人寿保险的重要性。根据2018年的LIMRA“保险晴雨表研究”,有90%的受访者认为主要工资收入人应拥有人寿保险政策。对于大多数调查对象(91%)而言,购买人寿保险单的首要原因是支付丧葬费和其他最终费用。

但是,人寿保险能提供的保障比您想象的更多。如果您在有负债的情况下死亡,这份保险可以帮助保护您的业务或避免家庭经济损失。一份保险也可以帮助弥补失去的工资。人寿保险也可以用作遗产,特别是因为身故保险金通常无需缴纳联邦所得税。

 

如何选择合适的人寿保险类型

不同类型的人寿保险有不同的政策,可能很难确定从何处开始。选择人寿保单时,一般需要考虑几种因素,包括您的年龄,生命阶段和预算。随着年龄的增长和对健康的担忧,保单的保费也会随之增加。因此,最好在年轻且身体健康的时候购买保险。

人寿保险有几种不同类型,其中最常见的是:

  • 定期型人寿保险(Term life):这种类型的保险通常以最低的预付费用提供最大的保护。期限政策会在一个特定的将来时间结束。幼儿的父母可能会购买一份为期20年的定期保单,在孩子成年之前提供保护。定期保单的其他用途包括提供保护直到房屋贷款还清,承保直到退休,或承保直到企业有未偿还贷款时。
  • 储蓄型人寿保险(Whole life):通常被称为“终身寿险”,这种类型的保单不会终止,会继续创造现金价值。尽管价格昂贵(有时是定期人寿保险费用的六到十倍 ),但它是继承计划的理想选择。
  • 万能型人寿保险(Universal life):与传统的终身寿险相比,这种类型的保险比较灵活,使保单持有人可以获得最低利率,并能选择保费支付的时间表。现金价值可以随着价值的增长而借入。
  • 指数型人寿保险(Indexed universal life):这种类型的保单允许持有人根据独立财务指数的表现来选择以固定利率或浮动利率投资的保单百分比 - 其中最受欢迎的是不计股息的股票指数。
  • 投资型万能人寿保险(Variable universal life):比其他保险政策更加灵活,这种类型的保单增加了投资的机会,让持有人可以投资保单一部分的保费于股票,债券和其他基金。VUL有可能获得更高的回报,但如果投资价值下降也会有损失。对于计划长期保留保单的持有人来说,这是最好的选择。

 

人寿保险在财务规划中的重要性

大多数人在达到人生里程碑时都会购买人寿保险,例如结婚、生子、购买房地产,或投资业务。定期人寿保险可以是一种经济实用的短期选择;实际上,在拥有人寿保险的消费者中,有71% 的消费者拥有定期人寿保险。

每隔几年,市面上就会出现新类型的保单。最近的一种是会退还保费的定期人寿保险,该保单在为期结束时退还保费,让您可以为孩子的婚礼或其他重大活动付费。购买这些定期人寿保险的人通常在期限到期后购买永久性保险。

但是在选择保险时,长远打算为好。越来越多人开始了解人寿保险在财务计划和长期投资策略中的作用。

1. 家庭收入替代

保单持有人希望尽管收入减少,仍能允许受益人保持其目前的生活方式和生活水平。 LIMRA 的分析表示,每个家庭一般需要 5 1/4 年的收入重置价值,但大多数仅够三年。这是人寿保险之所以重要的关键原因。

2. 房屋保障

支付抵押贷款可能会成为亲人的负担,因此许多保单持有人购买人寿保险时,会考虑未偿还的房屋贷款余额。这使家庭成员可以留在居所中。

3. 儿童教育

安排合理的人寿保险政策可以确保提供子女考上大学后的财务支持,或继续支付现有的大学费用。

4. 尚存配偶的退休收入

没有了您的收入,为退休进行储蓄可能对您的配偶构成挑战:66% 的美国消费者担心能否拥有足够的储蓄以实现舒适的退休生活。配偶去世后,这种担忧会大大增加。保险福利可以帮助消除或减少尚存配偶为退休储蓄所需的缺口。

5. 业务保护和延续

小企业的持有人经常将毕生积蓄投资于自己的业务。人寿保险可以帮助保护业务和受益人。由人寿保险收益提供资金的“购买/出售”协议可以成为帮助确保业务连续性的强大工具。

6. 遗产规划

在保单持有人去世后,人寿保险政策福利为遗产税和其他负债提供资金。人寿保险还可以帮助生者避免出售房屋或业务来履行这些义务。

许多人想购买人寿保险,但不知道从何处开始或他们的需要多少的保单。了解详情并开始及早计划是最好的预防措施。了解国泰财富管理如何提供帮助

 

相关链接:

 

  • 本文不构成法律、会计或其他专业性的建议。尽管此处包含的信息旨在准确无误,但国泰银行对由于依赖此类信息而造成的损失或损害不承担任何责任。
  • 本文仅用于教育目的,既不推荐也不建议购买或出售任何产品,或采取任何投资或保险策略,因为它们可能不适合您的特定需求。您应该与国泰财富管理的财务顾问联系。

在 FINRA 的 Broker Check 上查看该投资专业性的背景。

注册办事处:825 E. Valley Blvd., 2nd Floor, San Gabriel, CA 91776 电话:1-877-722-8429

证券和保险产品通过 Cetera Investment Services LLC(作为 CFG STC Insurance Agency LLC 在加州从事保险业务)成员 FINRA/ SIPC 提供。咨询服务由 Cetera Investment Advisers LLC 提供。两家公司均不隶属于提供投资服务的金融机构。投资:• 没有 FDIC/NCUSIF 受保 • 可能会贬值 • 没有金融机构保证 • 并非押金 • 没有任何联邦政府机构的受保。

与Cetera 公司有关联的个人是指,仅提供经纪服务及依交易量收受薪酬(佣金)的注册代表、仅提供投资咨询服务及依资产价值收取费用的投资顾问代表,或是有能力提供这两类服务的注册代表和投资顾问代表。

单击此处浏览 Cetera Investment Service 隐私政策和其他重要信息

本网站仅面向美国居民发布。Cetera Investment Services LLC 的注册代表只能与在其进行了正确注册的州和/或辖区的居民开展业务。并非在每个州和列出的每个顾问处都可以使用此站点上引用的所有产品和服务。有关更多信息,请联系网站上列出的顾问,请访问 Cetera Investment Services LLC 网站 www.ceterainvestmentservices.com

Share This Article:

分享此文章
Social share image

Skip to main content

Insights by Cathay

Assess your life insurance options — there is more to it than you think

Many people understand the importance of life insurance. According to the 2018 LIMRA "Insurance Barometer Study," 90% of respondents believe the primary wage earner should have a life insurance policy. The top reason for purchasing a life insurance policy to most survey respondents (91%) is to cover the costs of burial and other final expenses.

But life insurance can be more of a safeguard than you think. Having a policy can help protect your business or family from financial loss if you should die while you have obligations. For example, a policy can help replace lost wages. Life insurance could also be used as an inheritance, especially because death benefit proceeds are typically not subject to federal income tax.

 

How to choose your type of life insurance

With the different types of life insurance policies, it can be difficult to determine where to start. Choosing which type of life insurance policy to purchase is based on several factors, including your age, life stage, and budget. Insurance policy premiums increase as you age and/or develop health concerns — thus it is best to buy insurance when you are younger and in good health.

There are several different types of life insurance policies, with these being the most common:

  • Term life: This type of insurance most commonly provides the largest amount of protection at the lowest upfront cost. A term policy ends at a specific future time. Parents of young children might purchase a 20-year term policy that provides protection until the child is an adult. Other uses for a term policy include protection until a mortgage is paid off, coverage until retirement, or coverage while there is an outstanding loan on a business.
  • Whole life: Often called “permanent insurance,” this type of policy does not end and continues to build a cash value. While it is more expensive (sometimes six to 10 times the cost of term life insurance), it is ideal for an inheritance plan.
  • Universal life: More flexible than traditional whole life insurance, this type allows policyholders to earn a minimum interest rate and choose a premium payment schedule. The cash value can be borrowed against the policy as the value grows.
  • Indexed universal life: This type of policy allows holders to choose a percentage of the policy to be invested at a fixed rate of interest or a fluid rate based on the performance of independent financial indexes — the most popular being stock indexes calculated without dividends.
  • Variable universal life: Even more flexible, this type of policy adds the opportunity to invest a portion of the premium payment. These subaccounts can be invested in stocks, bonds, and other funds. VUL has the potential for higher returns — but also losses if the investments fall in value — and is best for policyholders who plan to keep the policy for a longer term.

 

Importance of life insurance in financial planning

The majority of people purchase life insurance when they hit milestones — getting married, having children, purchasing real estate, or investing in a business. Term life insurance can be an economical short-range choice; in fact, 71% of consumers who own some sort of life insurance policy have a term life policy.

Every few years, new types of policies emerge, with a recent one being a return of premium term policy that returns the premium at the end of the term — allowing you to pay for a child’s wedding or other significant event. Those who purchase these term policies typically buy permanent insurance after the term expires.

But it would be a good idea to look well beyond a set term. Increasingly, people are coming to understand the role of life insurance in financial planning and long-term investment strategies.

1. Family income replacement

Policyholders hope to allow beneficiaries to maintain their present lifestyle and standard of living despite the loss of earnings. LIMRA's analysis suggests that the average family needs an income replacement value for 5 1/4 years, but most only have enough for three years. This is a key reason life insurance is important.

2. Mortgage protection

Paying a mortgage can be a burden to loved ones, so many policyholders purchase life insurance to pay off the outstanding mortgage balance. This allows family members to remain in the residence.

3. Children’s education

A properly structured life insurance policy may ensure that college is financially feasible or continue to pay for existing college expenses.

4. Retirement income for surviving spouse

Without your income, saving for retirement might be challenging for your spouse: 66% of American consumers are concerned about having enough savings for a comfortable retirement. After a spouse’s death, that concern can significantly increase. Insurance benefits can help to eliminate or close the gap needed for the surviving spouse to save for retirement.

5. Business protection and continuation

Small business owners often invest their life savings in their business. Life insurance can help protect the business and the beneficiaries. A “buy/sell” agreement, funded with life insurance proceeds, can be a powerful tool to help ensure business continuity.

6. Estate planning

Life insurance policy benefits can be used to fund estate taxes and other liabilities upon the policyholder’s death. Life insurance might also help survivors avoid the sale of a home or business to meet those obligations.

Many people want to purchase life insurance but do not know where to start or how much they need in their policy. Being informed and starting to plan early are the best preventative measures. See how Cathay Wealth Management can help.

 

Related link:

 

  • This article does not constitute legal, accounting or other professional advice. Although the information contained herein is intended to be accurate, Cathay Bank does not assume liability for loss or damage due to reliance on such information.
  • This article is intended for educational purposes only, and is not a recommendation nor offer to purchase or sell any product or pursue any investment or insurance strategy, as they may not be suitable for your specific needs. You should speak to your financial advisor at Cathay Wealth Management.

Check the background of this investment professional on FINRA’s Broker Check 

Registered office: 825 E. Valley Blvd., 2nd Floor, San Gabriel, CA 91776 Tel: 1-877-722-8429

Securities and insurance products are offered through Cetera Investment Services LLC (doing insurance business in CA as CFG STC Insurance Agency LLC), member FINRA/ SIPC. Advisory services are offered through Cetera Investment Advisers LLC. Neither firm is affiliated with the financial institution where investment services are offered. Investments are:  • Not FDIC/NCUSIF insured • May lose value • Not financial institution guaranteed • Not a deposit • Not insured by any federal government agency.

Individuals affiliated with Cetera firms are either Registered Representatives who offer only brokerage services and receive transaction-based compensation (commissions), Investment Adviser Representatives who offer only investment advisory services and receive fees based on assets, or both Registered Representatives and Investment Adviser Representatives, who can offer both types of services.

Click here to view Cetera Investment Services Privacy Policy and other Important Information.

This site is published for residents of the United States only. Registered Representatives of Cetera Investment Services LLC may only conduct business with residents of the states and/or jurisdictions in which they are properly registered. Not all of the products and services referenced on this site may be available in every state and through every advisor listed. For additional information please contact the advisor(s) listed on the site, visit the Cetera Investment Services LLC site at www.ceterainvestmentservices.com.

Share This Article:

Share
Social share image