移至主內容

遠瞻

千禧一代重塑情人節購物潮流

2019年的統計數據顯示,情人節的潮流正朝著相反的方向發展。

隨著千禧一代開始超越嬰兒潮一代,成為美國人數最多的成年人口。他們的感情和消費習慣也在不斷變化,傳統的二月節日情人節完美地反映出這一點。2019年,打算慶祝情人節的美國人比例降至51%,但那些表示確實會慶祝該節日的人實際上花費更多(人均162美元)。去年,節日的總開支預計將首次超過200億美元

千禧一代處事有自己的一套方式,他們消費態度的改變正在改變情人節的消費潮流。

 

簡介

情人節定於2月14日,也稱為聖瓦倫丁節,歷來被視為世界各地民眾表達愛意的節日。這個基督徒的節日在約公元500年設立,節日來源及命名有數個不同的版本,分別與三個名叫Valentine或者Valentinus的聖人相關。

情人節的首次商業化交易發生在十八世紀的英國,成為認可和慶祝此節日的一種方式。消費支出自此一直呈增長趨勢。

 

情人節消費者觀察

情人節花費的金額可能仍在增加,但參與人數似乎正在減少。那些選擇不慶祝該節日的人認為節日已過度商業化,或表示沒有伴侶與其共同慶祝,又或者純粹對節日不感興趣。

美國零售聯合會(National Retail Federation,簡稱NRF)的數據顯示,對比十年前,成人消費者對此節日的熱情正在消退。2009年,72%的18至34歲消費者以及65%的35至54歲消費者慶祝了情人節。十年後,所有年齡組中只有約一半的受訪成人計劃參加節慶活動。

情人節這些潮流的出現其中一個可能的原因是,千禧一代與上幾代人相比傾向於推遲重大生活決定。千禧一代維持單身的時間較長,結婚較晚。1965年,女性初婚年齡中位數不到21歲,而現在則超過27歲。男性還需等待更長時間,從1965年的年齡中位數22.8歲增加到2018年的29.8歲。

但是,老年人慶祝情人節的可能性實際最小。根據 NRF,與18 至 34 歲及 35 至 54 歲年齡組相比,55 歲以上的年齡組慶祝節日的可能性向來較低。

我們在情人節花了多少錢?整體而言,千禧一代平均為伴侶花161美元,15% 的年輕千禧一代預計將花費超過 500 美元。相比之下,X一代消費者花費約 270 美元,而嬰兒潮一代僅花費約 150 美元。

 

新情人節趨勢

慶祝情人節的人數在減少,但該節日總體花費卻有所增加,背後必定事出有因。實際上,情人節不僅僅是愛侶的專屬節日。許多不慶祝情人節的年輕消費者仍然選擇以其他方式慶祝這個特別時刻。

以下是一些越來越流行的情人節購物潮流:

  1. 寵物禮物:根據美國寵物產品協會(American Pet Products Association),千禧一代佔所有寵物主人數量的三分之一。情人節已成為他們為寵物破費的理由。根據NRF的數據,2019年,寵物禮品消費超過 8.85 億美元。35歲以下的消費者中有四分之一人為寵物購買情人節禮物,他們的花費超過上幾代人。 PetSmart 和 Barkbox 等零售商和訂購服務推廣情人節禮物,亞馬遜網站也同時為寵物和主人提供禮品指南。
  2. Galentine’s Day:千禧一代將友誼視為不斷變化世界中的其中一個穩定因素。美國熱門電視節目《Parks and Recreation》率先向消費者推出了Galentine’s Day的概念,做法就是閨蜜們在該節日互贈禮物慶祝友情。近年來,歡樂節已成為主流,社交媒體網站和網上零售商引導消費者購買為女性慶祝和以女性需求為主導的商品。
  3. 反情人節:一些消費者不是浮誇式、浪漫主義式情人節的粉絲,而且反其道而行。許多酒吧和餐館都提供反情人節促銷,一些群體則通過音樂和美食派對慶祝單身。未滿 35 歲的群體中約有三分之一的人選擇不慶祝該節日,而選擇為自己購買禮物或在水療中心消磨一天等,盡情享受“自我時光”。
  4. 體驗式禮物:相比傳統的鮮花、糖果和賀卡,年輕消費者慶祝情人節更注重體驗和冒險的樂趣。他們傾向於更具吸引力的禮品選項。浪漫的逍遙遊或音樂會門票可帶來更加獨特而難忘的美好時光。

 

向所有人表達愛意

雖然表示仍慶祝情人節的美國人僅僅超過半數,但節日仍然充滿商機。情人節不再僅僅是愛人之間的浪漫。它正在迅速成為消費者向生活中的所有人和寵物表達感情的機會。企業將感受到這種愛。

 

本文不構成法律、會計或其他專業建議。本文所含資訊力求準確,但國泰銀行不對任何因依賴這份資訊所致之損失或損害負責。

Share This Article:

分享此文章

Skip to main content

Insights by Cathay

Millennials reshape Valentine’s Day shopping trends

The statistics from 2019 show that Valentine’s Day trends are heading in opposite directions.

As Millennials begin to surpass Baby Boomers as the United States’ largest adult population, sentiments and spending habits are changing as well — perfectly illustrated by the traditional February holiday. In 2019, the number of Americans who planned to celebrate Valentine’s Day dropped to 51%, but those who said they do celebrate actually spent more (at $162 per person). Overall spending for the holiday was projected to eclipse $20 billion for the first time last year.

Millennials tend to do things differently, and that change in attitudes is reshaping Valentine’s Day shopping trends.

 

The heart of it all

Celebrated on February 14, Valentine’s Day (also referred to as St. Valentine’s Day) is historically a salute to love all around the world. The Christian feast day was established around 500 A.D., though there are conflicting stories about three saints named Valentine or Valentinus for whom the feast day was named.

As a way to acknowledge and celebrate the holiday, the first commercialized exchange of valentines occurred in the 18th century in England. Spending has only increased since.

 

Valentine’s Day consumer insights

The amount of money spent on Valentine’s Day might still be increasing, but individual participation appears to be waning. Those who choose not to celebrate said they found the holiday over-commercialized, did not have a partner to celebrate with, or were simply disinterested.

According to the National Retail Federation, adult consumers are showing less enthusiasm for the holiday than they did a decade ago. In 2009, 72% of consumers aged 18 to 34 and 65% of adults aged 35 to 54 celebrated Valentine’s Day. Ten years later, only around half of the surveyed adults across all age groups planned festivities.

One might think these Valentine’s Day trends stem from Millennials’ inclination to delay major life decisions compared to previous generations. Millennials are staying single longer, and they are getting married later in life. In 1965, the median age of first marriages was just under 21 for women. Today, that number exceeds 27. Men have also been waiting longer, going from a median age of 22.8 in 1965 to 29.8 in 2018.

However, older generations are actually the least likely to celebrate Valentine’s Day. According to the NRF, the 55-plus age group was consistently less likely to celebrate the holiday when compared to 18- to 34-year-olds and 35- to 54-year-olds.

How much do we spend on Valentine’s Day? Overall, Millennials spend an average of $161 on their partners, with 15% of younger Millennials expecting to spend more than $500. In comparison, Generation X consumers spend about $270, while Baby Boomers spend only about $150.

 

New Valentine’s Day trends

With fewer people celebrating Valentine’s Day, there has to be a reason for the increase in spending around the holiday. Truthfully, Valentine’s Day is not just for lovers. Many younger consumers who are not participating in Valentine’s Day are still choosing to mark the occasion one way or another.

Below are some of the Valentine’s Day shopping trends that are gaining popularity:

  1. Gifts for pets: According to the American Pet Products Association, Millennials make up more than one-third of all pet owners. Valentine’s Day has become a reason for them to splurge on their furry family members. Gifts for four-legged friends surpassed $885 million in 2019, according to the NRF. More than a quarter of consumers under the age of 35 buy Valentine’s Day gifts for their pets, and they spend more than older generations. Retailers and subscription services like PetSmart and BarkBox promote Valentine’s Day gifts, and Amazon offers gift guides for pets and owners alike.
  2. Galentine’s Day: Millennials see friendships as a one of the stabilizing factors in a changing world. The popular television show “Parks and Recreation” originally introduced consumers to the idea of Galentine’s Day, which centers on the concept of celebrating female friendships with gifts. In recent years, however, Galentine’s Day has hit the mainstream, with social media sites and online retailers directing consumers to goods that celebrate and empower women.
  3. Anti-Valentine’s Day: Some consumers are not fans of the in-your-face romanticism of Valentine’s Day, and they are going against the grain. Many bars and restaurants offer Anti-Valentine’s Day promotions, while other groups of friends will throw parties with music and food to celebrate singlehood. Approximately one-third of those under the age of 35 who choose not to celebrate the holiday opt to indulge in “me time,” whether that means giving themselves a gift or splurging on a day at the spa.
  4. Experiential gifts: For younger consumers who do celebrate Valentine’s Day, experience and adventure tend to be more appealing gift options than the traditional flowers, candy, and greeting cards route. A romantic getaway or concert tickets allow for quality time and make gifts more unique and memorable.

 

Love to all

Even though only slightly more than half of Americans say they celebrate Valentine’s Day now, the holiday is still lucrative. Valentine’s Day is no longer just about romance with a significant other. It is quickly becoming an opportunity for consumers to showcase their affection for all people — and pets — in their lives. And businesses will be the ones feeling the love.

 

This article does not constitute legal, accounting, or other professional advice. Although the information contained herein is intended to be accurate, Cathay Bank does not assume liability for loss or damage due to reliance on such information.

Share This Article:

Share