移至主內容

遠瞻

假日網上購物安全小提示

感恩節後的星期一被稱爲網路星期一(Cyber Monday),這一天通常標誌着假日網上購物季正式開始。在美國近四分之一的網購皆發生在十一月和十二月。

eMarketer 指出,2018年網路星期一的網購交易總額為 78.7 億元,成為史上最大的網上消費日。該報告也預測 2019 年的美國零售消費將增長 3.7%。

假日網購季的相關促銷和優惠在吸引大量消費者的同時,也引來不法之徒。2017 年假日期間,企圖在網上盜竊身份的案件與去年同期相比增加 22%——即每 85 筆交易中就有一筆被視為企圖詐騙。

別讓不法之徒破壞您的假日。以下是假日網購季相關的網路安全建議:

 

1. 在可信任的網站和應用程式上購物

選擇您曾經購物過的、熟悉的和信任的商家。不要被聲譽不佳的網站給予的大幅折扣迷惑。

確保在瀏覽器中鍵入正確的網址。避免點擊推廣電郵、彈窗或社交網絡廣告提供的鏈接。這些鏈接可能會將您帶到虛假的網站,繼而入侵您的電腦,並竊取您的信用卡號碼或銀行帳號等的個人資料。

切勿在不帶 https 前綴的網站進行網購。在網購過程中檢查瀏覽器的網址,一般應該以 https 開頭。 http 之後的 s 代表您通過互聯網傳輸的個人信息將會得到一層安全保障。

使用知名且信譽良好的應用程序。如果想使用自己喜歡的應用程序購物,請從信譽良好、安全的來源下載,例如 Google Play™ 商店,Apple App Store 或 Amazon App Store。下載應用程序時,一般會要求權限,請仔細閱讀,確保條文內沒有不合理的地方。

 

2. 了解商家

互聯網上有很多虛假和懷有惡意的公司。在新的網店購物前,請閱讀其他客戶的購物體驗和評論;檢查該公司是否在社交網絡中有良好的口碑。

同時確認網站是否有合法的郵寄地址、銷售電話號碼或實體店地址。

 

3. 看起來太優惠的商品要格外留神

如果一個網站提供的商品優惠好得令人難以置信,很可能就是不可信的。一定要到同類網站上比較商品的價格和圖片。網絡犯罪分子的一個常見策略是在電子產品等熱門商品上提供極低的價格,吸引潛在的受害者,竊取其個人信息。

當您突然收到包含促銷鏈接或附件的電子郵件時,請特別小心。他們可能會將您引導至偽造的釣魚網站,該網站旨在竊取您的信息或使用惡意軟件入侵您的電腦。請刪除來源不明的電郵,不要點擊任何鏈接,也不要打開來自陌生人或商家的附件。

請注意那些要求您確認購物信息的虛假包裹追踪電郵、假電子賀卡和電郵,這些手法在假日購物季時十分常見。

 

4. 確保您的電子設備的網絡安全

確保您的電子設備的安全。根據電腦或手機等移動設備製造商的建議,安裝安全修復程序及相應更新。使用最新版瀏覽器和插件以避免安全漏洞。安裝防病毒軟件和安全應用程序,並確保這些程序和軟件都是最新版的。

不使用時切記鎖定您的移動設備,聽起來好像是小事一樁,但不鎖定會容易被壞人盯上從而導致信息被竊取。大多數移動設備都有自動鎖定的功能設置,然後需要密碼或者繪圖,指模甚至刷臉來解鎖手機,這些內置功能值得好好利用。

 

5. 避免使用公共無線網絡

公共無線網絡連接能泄露您的信息。這些連接通常不受保護,因此別有用心的人想要攔截您的通信(包括密碼和信用卡數據)並不難。

您可使用公共網絡瀏覽網店,但該避免網購。應在使用家中網絡或者是連接到可信賴的安全網絡時,才進行購物。

使用公共無線網絡時,避免登錄電子郵件和銀行等關鍵帳戶。如無法避免,請在連接到可信網絡後立即更改密碼。

在加入的無線網絡之前將設備設置為“始終詢問”,這樣您就不會不知不覺連到不安全的熱點。

 

6. 建立高強度密碼

密碼是您錢包的鑰匙。一串高強度的密碼應該是長而隱秘,方便記憶的同時又讓壞人捉摸不透。切勿向任何人透露您的密碼,且要定期進行更改。

在不同的帳戶使用不同的密碼。如果您已經被網絡犯罪份子盯上,使用不一樣的工作/學校和個人帳戶密碼可以降低損失。使用不同的密碼亦可降低您成為受害者的機率。

不要自動保存您的密碼或信用卡號碼,畢竟與個人信息被惡意軟件或黑客侵入電腦或移動設備而竊取的風險相比,輸入密碼簡直就是舉手之勞。

 

7. 不要分享太多信息

購物網站不應向您索取您的社會安全號碼。不法分子只要拿到社會安全號碼,再結合其他個人信息,基本上就可進行身份盜竊,造成嚴重後果。因此,要盡量避免分享個人信息。

 

8. 帳單勤檢查

定期檢查您的信用卡和銀行帳單。這些通常是您身份和個人數據被盜的第一個指標。如果您發現任何可疑費用,應盡快跟進。

使用短訊和 APP 提示服務。大多數銀行 APP 或網站都提供此類提示服務,在出現了超出指定金額的交易時以短訊或 APP 提醒您,助您更容易發現異常情況。

 

9. 假期購物?不止於此!

這些實用的購物小貼士不限於購物季使用,以後也可以助您變成一個更精明的消費者。

 

本文不構成法律、會計或其他專業建議。本文所含資訊力求準確,但國泰銀行不對任何因依賴這份資訊所致之損失或損害負責。

 

Share This Article:

分享此文章

Skip to main content

Insights by Cathay

  • 11.18.2019

Online holiday shopping safety tips

The Monday after Thanksgiving, known as Cyber Monday, marks the official start for online holiday shopping in the United States. Nearly one quarter of online shopping in the U.S. occurs in November and December.

According to eMarketer, Cyber Monday 2018 saw $7.87 billion in online sales, making it the largest online spending day in history. But the report projected U.S. retail spending to increase by 3.7% in 2019.

The offers and deals associated with the online holiday shopping season draw numerous consumers. They also attract the predators. Online identity theft attempts saw an increase of 22% during the 2017 holiday season compared to the year before — one out of 85 transactions was tagged as a fraudulent attempt.

Don't let thieves spoil your celebration. Here are some cybersecurity tips for the holidays:

 

1. Shop on websites and apps that you trust

One way to shop safely and securely online is to conduct online business with familiar retailers that you trust and have shopped with before. Don't be fooled by the lure of great discounts offered by less-than-reputable websites.

Be sure to type the actual web address into your browser. Avoid following links provided by email offers, pop-ups, or social network ads. These links could take you to fake sites designed to infect your computer or obtain personal information such as your credit card number or bank account number.

Never purchase merchandise from a website that does not use HTTPS for the purchase process. Check the address line of your browser during the purchase process; it should start with HTTPS. The S means that the website provides a layer of security for transmitting your personal information over the internet.

Only use apps from known, reputable sources. If you prefer to shop using the app of your favorite retailer, make sure you download it from a reputable source, such as Google Play, Apple's App Store, or the Amazon Appstore. When you download the app, it will ask for permissions. Read through the request to make sure it makes sense.

 

2. Check out the business

Another online shopping security concern is the fact that there are a lot of fake and malicious companies on the internet. When considering a new website or online company for your holiday purchases, read the reviews to see what other customers’ experiences have been, and check to see whether the company has a good presence on social networks.

Also verify that the website has a legitimate mailing address and phone number for sales or a brick-and-mortar location.

 

3. Make sure it's not too good to be true

If a website offers something that looks too good to be true, it probably is. Compare prices and pictures of the merchandise on similar websites. A common tactic by cybercriminals is to use extremely low prices on popular items, such as electronics, to lure potential victims and steal their personal information.

Be especially careful with unexpected emails with links or attachments for “special offers.” They might direct you to a bogus phishing website that was built to capture your information or infect your computer with malware. Delete the unexpected emails, don’t click on any links, and don’t open any attachments from individuals or businesses you are unfamiliar with.

If you want to make sure your internet shopping is safe, beware of fake package tracking emails, fake e-cards, and emails requesting that you confirm purchase information. They are particularly common during the holiday season.

 

4. Keep your device healthy

Keep your device secured. Install the recommended security patches and updates that your computer or mobile device manufacturer provides. Use the latest version of your internet browser and plug-ins to avoid security holes. Install antivirus software and security apps, and make sure they are up-to-date.

Always lock your mobile device when it is not in use. This sounds trivial, but unlocked devices left unattended can expose your personal information to prying eyes. Most mobile devices request that you set it to automatically lock. A password, a drawing pattern, or even a biometric trait is then requested to unlock the phone. Take advantage of these built-in features.

 

5. Avoid public Wi-Fi

Public Wi-Fi networks can reveal your information. Because these connections are often unprotected, it is easy to intercept your communications, including passwords and credit card data.

Window-shop and compare prices only. If you are using a public connection, do your research, but avoid buying. Purchase via your home network or when you are connected to a trusted, secured network.

Avoid logging on to key accounts, such as email and banking, using public Wi-Fi. If inevitable, remember to change your passwords as soon as you can connect to a trusted network.

Set your device to “always ask” before joining a Wi-Fi network. You don’t want to unknowingly connect to an insecure hotspot.

 

6. Create strong passwords

Passwords are the keys to your wallet. Make them long and strong — easy for you to remember but very difficult to guess. Never reveal them to anyone. Change them periodically.

Be sure to create a unique password for each unique account. Having separate passwords for work or college and personal accounts limits the damage if you have fallen victim to a cybercriminal. It also reduces the chances of being a victim because easy targets are always exploited first.

Don't auto-save your passwords or credit card numbers. Entering this information manually is just a minor inconvenience compared to the risk of having your personal information stolen by malware or someone who hacked into your computer or mobile device.

 

7. Don’t share too much information

No shopping website will ask for your Social Security number. Combined with other personal information, serious damage can be done through identity theft. Always share the least amount of personal information possible.

 

8. Check your statements

Check your credit card and bank statements regularly. These are often the first indicators that your identity and personal data have been stolen. If you see any charges you don’t recognize, address the matter immediately.

Use text and app alerts. Most banking apps or sites give you the option to set text or message alerts about transactions made over a specified amount, making it easier to spot unusual activity.

 

9. Use these tips all year long.

Keep these useful tips in mind for your online shopping security year-round, not just during the holidays!

 

This article does not constitute legal, accounting or other professional advice. Although the information contained herein is intended to be accurate, Cathay Bank does not assume liability for loss or damage due to reliance on such information.

Share This Article:

Share