移至主內容

遠瞻

利用貨幣貶值帶來的機會

對大中型公司而言,全球貨幣波動可能對業務產生重大影響,影響利潤、收入和銷售額。因此 ,美國總統 Donald Trump 爭取美元貶值 ,使美國企業在國際貿易中獲得優勢。由於全球經濟增長緩慢,貨幣貶值會使國家出口產品更便宜,這反過來又會使企業在國際市場上更具吸引力。

中美貿易衝突對金融市場影響甚大,其中之一就是人民幣(RMB)貶值。 2019年8月2日,人民幣 11 年來首次“ 破 7 ”,也就是說 1 美元可以兌換超過 7 元人民幣。

 

補償匯率變動帶來的損失

當美國公司從中國市場進口時,相關的關稅可能會由公司支付,或者由客戶支付。無論哪種情況,結果都會影響銷售量。兩個答案都不盡完美。

向中國出口商品也會面臨高匯率。當人民幣貶值時,中國消費者的購買力也會下降。這種情況下,用人民幣結算可能比用美元結算更有利。出口商可以鎖定匯率,避免交易時貨幣匯率的波動帶來的影響。

2019 年,人民幣因貿易衝突貶值 7%。對於進口中國商品的公司來說,用人民幣作為交收貨幣意味著在同一筆交易中花費更少的美元,有助支付關稅。

無論您是希望鎖定匯率以避免匯率波動,還是對沖貶值以避免損失和風險,我們都可以幫助您定制外匯對沖策略,降低您的風險,保障您的底線。

 

了解在岸和離岸貨幣的區別

在國際市場上,您可以根據自己所在的位置,以不同的價格買賣貨幣。

在岸貨幣是指您在當地購買的貨幣。這種情況下,在岸人民幣(標識為“ CNY ”)由中央銀行控制。離岸貨幣是指您在境外購買的貨幣,例如離岸人民幣(CNH)。它們會隨市場波動,所以在中國銷售的中國產品與在美國銷售的中國產品定價會有所不同。

 

從其它全球貨幣尋找機會

去年,人民幣被大量媒體報導,但其它國家的貨幣也有波動。澳元下跌,而日元和瑞士法郎(這兩種2019年的避險貨幣)則走強。作為企業持有人或決策人,您必須關注其它國家的貨幣的動向。您也可以充分利用這些波動。

與國泰銀行外匯交易專家聯繫,了解如何通過匯率波動來發揮您的優勢。可致電1-866-228-4299或瀏覽我們的外匯交易頁面。

本文不構成法律、會計或其他專業建議。本文所含資訊力求準確,但國泰銀行不對任何因依賴這份資訊所致之損失或損害負責。

因為外幣價值可能會波動,所以您也可能會蒙受損失。本文所討論的外匯貨幣及策略僅供參考。他們不構成購買或出售任何外幣或實施任何特定策略的建議。請諮詢我們的外匯專家,了解適合在您目前所處的情況下的策略。

Share This Article:

分享此文章

Skip to main content

Insights by Cathay

Take advantage of opportunities brought about by currency devaluation

For midsize to large companies, global currency fluctuations can have a major impact on business. They can affect profits, revenue, and sales — so much so that President Donald Trump has argued for a weaker United States dollar to gain an advantage for American businesses in international trade. Because of slow economic growth globally, a weaker currency makes a nation’s exports cheaper, which, in turn, makes them more alluring in the international marketplace.

The trade conflict between the U.S. and China has impacted the financial market, one of which being the devaluation of the Chinese renminbi (RMB). The RMB “broke seven”- meaning that one could get more than 7 RMB for every $1USD – on August 2, 2019, the first time in 11 years.

 

Compensate for rate change

When a U.S. company imports from the Chinese market, it will be impacted in one of two ways: The company will either pay more in tariffs or its customers will pay for them. In either circumstance, lower sales are the result. Neither answer is perfect.

Exporting goods to China also means facing a high exchange rate. When RMB depreciates, so does the buying power of consumers in China. In such cases, it may be more favorable to settle in RMB currency over the U.S. dollar. Exporters can lock in the exchange rate at the current level to prevent uncertainty in transactions.

Because of the trade conflict, the RMB has depreciated by as much as 7% during 2019. For companies importing Chinese goods, using RMB as the settlement currency means spending fewer U.S. dollars in the same transaction, which helps to pay for the tariffs.

Whether you are looking to lock in an exchange rate to protect from currency fluctuations or to hedge against depreciation against losses and exposure, we can help you customize your foreign currency hedging strategy to minimize your risk and protect your bottom line.

 

Understanding the difference between onshore and offshore currencies

On the global market, you can buy and sell currencies at different prices, depending on where you are.

Onshore currencies are currencies you buy locally. In this case, onshore Chinese RMB (denoted as “CNY”) is controlled by the central bank. Offshore currencies — in this case, offshore Chinese RMB (denoted as “CNH”) — are currencies you buy outside national boundaries; they fluctuate based on the market. A Chinese product sold in China will be priced differently than that same product sold in the U.S.

 

Look for opportunities from other global currencies

The Chinese RMB garnered substantial media coverage last year, but other countries saw a lot of movement, too. The Australian dollar took a hit, while the Japanese yen and the Swiss franc (both safe-haven currencies in 2019) strengthened. As a business owner or decision maker, you must pay attention to other nations’ currencies. You can take advantage of movement there as well.

Talk to a Cathay Bank Foreign Exchange Specialist to find out how you can leverage currency fluctuations to your advantage. Call 1-866-228-4299 or view our Foreign Exchange Services.

This article does not constitute legal, accounting or other professional advice. Although the information contained herein is intended to be accurate, Cathay Bank does not assume liability for loss or damage due to reliance on such information.

The value of foreign currencies may fluctuate, and you may lose value. The foreign exchange currencies and strategies discussed in this article are for informational purposes only. They do not constitute an offer to purchase or sell any foreign currency or implement any particular strategy. Please seek the advice of our foreign exchange specialist to see if this strategy or any other strategies may be suitable for your situation.

Share This Article:

Share