跳转到主要内容

远瞻

抖音(TikTok)爆红社交媒体

抖音风靡娱乐和社交媒体。到底抖音是什麽?抖音是一个以手机制作和分享不超过15秒短片的应用程式和社交平台。很多人用抖音录下自己对嘴唱歌的模样,也有人会为短片配上有趣的声音。抖音鼓励用户透过影片製作与其他用户互动,例如拍摄一段回应片,或制作与原片相似的短片,和原片作一个「二重唱」。

抖音用户不用关注任何朋友或帐户都可以浏览平台上的影片。它根据用户的观看记录及喜好,为其推荐更多精选影片。这种运算法能让用户一口气追看很多自制影片,令他们在平台上花更多时间。

 

从 Musical.ly 到抖音

2014年,中国企业家朱骏和杨陆育创立 Musical.ly;Musical.ly 和抖音构想相似,每月活跃用户一度超过 1 亿。2016 年,张一鸣于 2012 年在北京创立的字节跳动科技有限公司(ByteDance,下称「字节跳动」)推出了抖音。字节跳动开发了一系列使用者原创内容和汇整╱推荐平台方面的应用程式。令抖音突围而出,成为字节跳动旗下最成功的应用程式,每月活跃用户数比 Musical.ly 多 4 亿。

抖音的成功推使字节跳动迈向国际市场,第一步就是在 2017 年收购 Musical.ly。合併后,字节跳动认为抖音更能呈现创作内容的广度,因此在 2018 年 8 月将 Musical.ly 并至抖音。

2018 年,抖音下载次数达6.63亿, 媲美 Facebook 的 7.11 亿。分析网站 App Annie 和 Sensor Tower 指出,2018年抖音的下载次数为全球第三名,2019年第一季下载次数为 1.88 亿,跻身社交媒体霸主行列。抖音的排名有时候甚至超越主流的 Facebook、Instagram、Snapchat 和 YouTube。它的主要收入来源是程式内的消费行为 2019 年 2 月,全球虚拟金币的销售额约 550 万元,较 2018 年 2 月增长 243%。

 

抖音将何去何从?

抖音俨然已称霸亚洲和北美,并预期在亚太地区会有大幅成长。字节跳动预测,抖音 2019 年收入将达 180 亿元,2020 年更会增至 290 亿元。字节跳动更求新求变——除了继续拓展市场外,它将推出直播、小程序、第一人称观点故事、按时间顺序的朋友动态时报以及有购物功能的影片等新功能,让介面和内容更趋完美。

虽然部分评论认为抖音会是一个很快退烧的社交平台,但它越来越受年轻人欢迎,发展令人拭目以待。

Disclosure

国泰银行和字节跳动(ByteDance)是独立的实体,与彼此无关。国泰银行与文章所提到的任何活动、产品或服务无关,并不作任何推荐。

本文不构成法律、会计或其他专业建议。本文所含资讯力求准确,但国泰银行不对任何因依赖这份资讯所致之损失或损害负责。

 

Share This Article:

分享此文章

Skip to main content

Insights by Cathay

TikTok rockets on social media

TikTok is quickly taking the entertainment and social media space by storm. What is TikTok? TikTok is an app and social media platform on which users create and share short videos — 15 seconds or less — from their mobile devices. Many people use TikTok to record themselves lip-syncing to their favorite songs, while others create social video content backed by sound bites. TikTok encourages users to engage with others through “response” videos or “duets” where they showcase their own video alongside the original upload.

TikTok users do not have to follow friends or accounts to view the uploaded videos. TikTok's algorithm curates personalized video recommendations based on users’ viewing history and preferences, making binge-watching homemade videos an almost certainty.

 

From Musical.ly to TikTok

Musical.ly, founded in 2014 by Chinese entrepreneurs Alex Zhu and Luyu Yang, had a similar idea that once captured an audience of more than 100 million monthly active users. Then came along TikTok in 2016, an app released by ByteDance, a Beijing-based media and tech company founded in 2012 by Yiming Zhang. ByteDance first developed a series of apps around user-generated content and aggregation/recommendation platforms. TikTok quickly gained in popularity and became its biggest success with usage surpassing Musical.ly by 400 million monthly active users.

Fueled by TikTok’s emerging success, ByteDance wanted to expand its international presence and took the first step to purchase Musical.ly in 2017. After the merger, ByteDance felt that TikTok better reflected the breadth of created content and, therefore, merged Musical.ly into TikTok in August 2018.

In 2018, TikTok was downloaded 663 million times, comparable to Facebook's 711 million. Analytics sites App Annie and Sensor Tower reported that TikTok received the third most app installations worldwide in 2018 and is ranked as a top social media app, with 188 million downloads in the first quarter of 2019. At times, the app is ranked higher than social media giants like Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, and YouTube. Its main source of revenue comes from in-app purchases. In February 2019, about $5.5 million in virtual coins was purchased globally, a 243% increase compared to February 2018.

 

Where is TikTok going?

The short video app is already poised to hold a dominant position in Asia and North America, and is expected to experience significant growth in the Asia Pacific region. ByteDance executives projected that TikTok will generate $18 billion in revenue in 2019 and $29 billion in 2020. In addition to its ambition to expand into further locations and markets, the company is also making changes to improve its user interface and content by incorporating new features like live streaming, games, first-person point-of-view stories, a chronological friend timeline, and in-video shopping.

While some critics view TikTok as another social media outlet that might soon fade away, its growing popularity among the younger generation shows signs that it might be on its way to infiltrating the mainstream. It will be interesting to see where TikTok is heading.

Cathay Bank and ByteDance are independent entities and are not affiliated with or related to each other. Cathay Bank does not endorse or recommend any activities, products, or services mentioned in this article.

This article does not constitute legal, accounting or other professional advice. Although the information contained herein is intended to be accurate, Cathay Bank does not assume liability for loss or damage due to reliance on such information.

 

Share This Article:

Share