移至主內容

遠瞻

美中經濟報告2020第二季更新

身處暴風眼的經貿關係

近幾個月以來,美國與中國的政治關係已跌入谷底。雖然在今年1月,這兩大經濟體簽署了第一階段的貿易協議,歷時兩年的貿易爭端稍微趨緩,但緊接著來的新冠肺炎疫情與香港《國家安全法》的制定使雙方再度陷入交戰的危機,因為在西方人眼中,香港《國安法》的制定違反了《中英聯合聲明》。我們觀察到在新冠肺炎擴散及全球與《國安法》制定後,美國政府對於中國採取了更強硬的立場,而北京更不落於人後。由於兩國激烈的反應,實施第一階段協議的困難上升,兩國的經貿關係可能會難回到貿易戰前的情況。 

FBI局長Christopher Wray1 7月7日發表的演說可以視為一個美國對華政策轉變的例子。他指出中國的反情報與經濟間諜活動是對美國知識產權與經濟活力最大的長期威脅。然而,他也解釋說,這不代表美國就應該禁止向中國出口觀光旅遊與教育的服務。簡而言之,美國依舊歡迎中國遊客與學生的到訪。巧合的是,在疫情肆虐的當下,美國也只來得及做到如此。

目前美國針對中國的政策包含《香港自治法案》中的制裁行動、《維吾爾人權政策法案》、南海與臺灣附近軍事活動的增加以及終結香港特殊地位的行政命令。而中國則指出臺灣、香港、南海以及維吾爾人相關的議題皆屬中國的內政問題,外國政府無權干涉。簡單來說,中國表示:「若美國持續挑釁,中國將永不妥協、永不投降,並反抗到底。」

目前的情況就如同我們在之前報告中提到的,第一階段協議有很高的機率不會被完全地執行。而川普也表示在現在這個時間點並沒有考慮簽署第二階段的協議。未來的一年,隨著美國總統大選的到來與中國強硬派影響力的擴大,兩國的政治環境將更難以捉摸。

雖然這些政治與環境的變動看起來會對兩國貿易往來產生惡劣的影響,但從數據來看,影響其實沒有想像中那麼深。也就是說,長期來講,兩國的經貿關係就像這場政治風暴中平靜的暴風眼,各行各業會自行適應國際貿易的新秩序,維持在一個平穩的狀態。值得一提的是,兩國經貿關係的穩定亦說明中美企業間的供應鏈網路交錯複雜,任一方皆難以完全脫離對方。

 

美國的進口與出口

此次全球的經濟衰退造成了全球貿易量的下降,其對美國與中國之間的貿易影響尤甚。出乎意料的是,兩國政治關係的急速惡化反而沒有反映在貿易上。目前美國前五大貿易夥伴為中國、墨西哥、加拿大、日本與英國。圖1顯示2020年前五個月美國出口至這些國家額度的下降。造成出口減少的其中一個原因是從美國出口至海外最終組裝再重新輸入美國的中間產品減少。而另一個原因則是上述五國國內需求的下降。整體來看,出口至中國的額度與2019年同期相比,大約下降了6%,與出口至德國、日本的7%的下降其實相差不大。也就是說,這樣的下降幅度在經濟衰退的情況下是合理的。而因為美國出口至加拿大與墨西哥的產品中包含許多中間產品,其在同一時間出口至這兩國的額度分別下降了20%與24%。

圖 1. 美國主要出口貿易夥伴(名目值,十億美元)
圖 1. 美國主要出口貿易夥伴(名目值,十億美元)
資料來源:U.S. Census

至於進口,圖2顯示其一樣受到經濟衰退的影響而下跌。美國從中國進口的額度減少了20%,不過其實與從加拿大進口減少的19%、墨西哥減少的21%相差無幾。而從德國與日本進口則分別減少了11%與17%。我們預估,隨著美國經濟逐漸復甦,其勢必會增加從國外的進口。不過從中國進口增加的幅度可能相對較小,因為這些進口產品通常都是非生活必需品,各家庭可能因為要維持收支平衡而增加儲蓄,非必需品的消費反而不會大幅增加。圖1與圖2中雖然也標注了前五大貿易夥伴之後的15個國家與地區,但如同圖中顯示的,美國與這些國家的貿易量甚小,即使有變動產生也不會對美國產生很大的影響。

圖 2. 美國主要進口貿易夥伴(名目值,十億美元)
圖 2. 美國主要進口貿易夥伴(名目值,十億美元)
資料來源:U.S. Census

所以這些影響與第一階段協議有何相關呢?讓我們回想一下第一階段協議的規定。協議中規定中國需在2020年向美國購買2,630億美元的商品與服務,不過協議中亦包含了加劇貿易配額完成困難度的規定。2020年的前五個月,中國只完成了年度商品配額的23%,因兩國之間的空運與海運受到疫情影響而減少,與此同時商品價格又下降,中國還面臨著經濟衰退的情況。另外,協議中也沒有要求中國要向其公民施壓購買更多的美國製商品與所提供之服務,特別是赴美觀光與高等教育方面。   

圖3呈現2018、2019、2020 年 前五個月美國各項服務業出口的情況。因為疫情的嚴峻性,許多國家發布旅遊禁令,因此旅遊業交通運輸業受到最大的影響,出現了最大的降幅,分別為41%與33%。目前沒有更進一步的資料說明出口至哪一個目的地受到的影響最大,服務業出口總成長不足也沒有辦法證明中國企業向美國購買大量的金融服務或取得智慧財產的授權。簡而言之,中國應該難以在2020年增加60%的進口。

圖 3. 美國各項服務業出口的情況 (名目值,十億美元)
圖 3. 美國各項服務業出口的情況(名目值,十億美元)
註:上圖中的其他服務業包含研究與研發、法律、會計、管理諮詢、公關、廣告、建築、工程、科學與其他技術服務。旅遊業包含與休閒、 健康、教育相關的私人旅行及商務旅行。交通運輸業則包含了海運與空運的費用及船票與機票的費用。
資料來源:美國商務部經濟分析局(Bureau of Economic Analysis)

 

中國的進口與出口

與2019年同期相比,中國的全球進出口總額在2020年的前五個月下降了7.7%。相對於美國出口減少的15%與進口減少的12.6%,7.7%其實算是一個很小的跌幅。如圖4所示,中國在出口至下列國家與地區的部份呈現最大的降幅:出口至美國減少了14%,香港減少13%,印度減少25%,英國減少15%。綜合圖1美國出口的情況來看,中美兩國在出口至日本、南韓、越南、臺灣與新加坡的方面皆未受到強烈影響,僅呈現微幅下降、甚至是不減反增的趨勢。以上情況發生的可能原因有兩個:一是這些國家與地區的疫情受到較好的控制,家庭消費減少的幅度較小;二是他們皆提供了重要的進口商品或服務。

圖5顯示中國的五大進口國分別為臺灣、南韓、日本、澳洲與美國。在這段時間,從美國、南韓與日本的進口減少了,但從臺灣與澳洲的進口並沒有減少,因為後兩者主要向中國出口中間產品與初級產品。而此結果與數據初步反映中國正慢慢地恢復到原本經濟成長的情況。

圖 4. 中國主要出口貿易夥伴(名目值,十億美元)
圖 4. 中國主要出口貿易夥伴(名目值,十億美元)
資料來源:CEIC

 

圖 5. 中國主要進口貿易夥伴 (名目值,十億美元)
圖 5. 中國主要進口貿易夥伴(名目值,十億美元)
資料來源:CEIC

 

結論

過去的30年是全球化的黃金時代,美國放下成見與中國保持著密切的政治與經貿往來。然而隨著疫情擴散與香港《國安法》的制定,中國與西方思想差異的問題又再度浮上檯面。不論是中國政府不畏國際壓力,也要強行推進《國安法》,或是此次美國總統大選候選人都沒有在中國相關的議題上做出退讓,皆表明了兩國不再維持原本親密的政治關係。雖然目前兩國在經濟貿易的層面可以暫時維持合理的交流,但朝著脫鉤的方向走是很明確的。

 

 

download this report  

下載此報告

  1. 見:https://www.fbi.gov/news/speeches/the-threat-posed-by-the-chinese-government-and-the-chinese-communist-party-to-the-economic-and-national-security-of-the-united-states

 

關於此報告


國泰銀行(Cathay Bank)與加州大學洛杉磯分校安德森經濟預測中心(UCLA Anderson Forecast)日前合作編寫了《中美經濟報告》。報告中,預測中心的學者們將會分析與討論他們對於世界上頭兩大經濟體當前與未來的看法。

加州大學洛杉磯分校安德森經濟預測中心成立65年以來,持續提供關於美國與加利福尼亞州經濟的分析報告。其在領域內長期處於領先的地位,而日後所發行的年度經濟報告和季度專欄將側重於影響美國和中國之間投資行為與資金流動的相關事件。

本報告中的預測性陳述,是來自加州大學洛杉磯分校安德森預測中心根據目前可獲得的資訊,對美國及中國當前及未來經濟狀況的分析及觀點。這些預測乃依據業界趨勢與其他因素所作出的,且包含了風險、變數與不確定性。此資訊以概述方式呈現,並未宣稱資訊完整。本報告中的資訊不應被視為針對您或您的企業採取特定行動的意見或建議,且並不考慮您的特定業務目標、財務狀況或需求。

在此提醒讀者不要過度依賴本報告中的前瞻性陳述。加州大學洛杉磯分校安德森預測中心不負責在本報告日期後,針對非預期事件或情況公開發表對這些前瞻性陳述的任何修訂結果。儘管已謹慎準備預測資訊,實際結果可能會有正面或負面的實質性差異。預測與假設範例可能因加州大學洛杉磯分校安德森預測中心控制以外的不確定性與偶發事件受到影響。

 

關於作者


Jerry Nickelsburg,加州大學洛杉磯分校安德森預測中心總監

Jerry Nickelsburg在2006年時加入加州大學洛杉磯分校的安德森管理學院及安德森預測中心。自2017年起出任安德森預測中心總監。他也在工商管理碩士課程中教授經濟學,關注企業預測與亞洲經濟。他擁有明尼蘇達大學的經濟博士學位,並曾就讀於維吉尼亞軍校以及喬治華盛頓大學。他在經濟學與公共政策有關的言論獲廣泛發表及引用。

 

William Yu,加州大學洛杉磯分校安德森預測中心經濟學家

William Yu在2011年以經濟學家的身份加入加州大學洛杉磯分校安德森預測中心。他在預測中心主要負責的領域包括經濟建模、預測與洛杉磯經濟。同時也從事中國經濟以及其與美國經濟的關係研究與預測。他的研究主軸包括諸如時間序列計量經濟學、數據分析、股票、債券、房地產與商品價格動態、人力資本與創新等廣泛的經濟金融問題。

Share This Article:

分享此文章

Skip to main content

Insights by Cathay

U.S.-China Report 2020 July Update

Business in the eye of the storm

In recent months the political relationship between the U.S. and China has slumped to a low point. After a two-year trade war between the two largest economies in the world, in January the Phase One trade agreement was signed. However, the Phase One truce was soon threatened by two unexpected events: (1) the coronavirus pandemic and (2) the Hong Kong National Security Law. As the pandemic spread across the globe and the National Security Law — which in the eyes of the West was a violation of the Sino-British Joint Declaration treaty guiding the transfer of Hong Kong from the U.K. to China — was put into place, we observed a hardening of the U.S. Administration’s position with respect to China, and a reaction by Beijing, that has now created new roadblocks both to the implementation of the Phase One agreement, and to a heretofore anticipated return to pre-trade war economic relations.

As an example of the change to U.S. public policy towards China, consider the July 7, 2020, remarks of FBI Director Christopher Wray.1 In his speech he stated that the greatest long-term threat to U.S. information and intellectual property, and to U.S. economic vitality, is the counterintelligence and economic espionage threat from China. He also stated that he did not mean that the U.S. shouldn’t host Chinese visitors and welcome Chinese students, the first an export of tourism services and the second an export of education services. However, U.S. policy, ostensibly due to the pandemic, has been to do just that.

U.S. policy initiatives include sanctions set out in the Hong Kong Autonomy Act; the Uyghur Human Rights Policy Act; an increase of U.S. military activities near Taiwan and in the South China Sea; and an executive order to end Hong Kong’s special status. The Chinese position is that Taiwan, Hong Kong, the South China Sea, and the Uyghur people are all internal Chinese national issues and foreign governments ought not interfere. Their response, to summarize, was to state that, “If the U.S. wants to keep playing tough, China will fight it to the end and will never compromise or surrender.”

We argued in the previous U.S. - China economic relations report that there was a very good chance that the Phase One agreement would not be fully implemented. That still seems to be the case. With respect to a Phase Two agreement, the U.S. President said that it is not under consideration and that it is not likely at this point. With a U.S. election coming up and China’s hardliners becoming more influential, it is hard to imagine the political environment will improve over the next 12 months.

While all this sounds ominous for trade between the two countries, the data indicate that in fact, it did not matter much. The long-term implications are clear, this is just the eye of the storm; a calm as businesses adjust to the new realities of international trade. At the same time, it provides a strong indication that the supply chain network that U.S. and Chinese companies have set up is complicated and costly to unwind.

 

U.S. Goods Exports and Imports

The global recession reduced world trade in general and U.S./China trade in particular. What is perhaps surprising is that though there is a deterioration of the political relationship between the U.S. and China, the trade data shows no evidence of it. The top five trading partners for the U.S. are China, Mexico, Canada, Japan, and the U.K. For each (Figure 1) exports declined during the first 5 months of 2020. Some of this is due to a decline in intermediate goods, those exported from the U.S. to be used in final assembly and re-exported back to the U.S., and some is due to a decline in domestic demand in each of the five countries. The decline in exports to China (-6% compared to the same period of 2019) is about what one would expect in a recession and comparable to the -7% for Germany and -7% for Japan. Exports to Canada and Mexico which include a large component of intermediate goods fell by -20% and -24% respectively over the same period.

Figure 1. U.S. Major Trading Partners by Exports (Billions, Current Dollars)
Figure 1. U.S. Major Trading Partners by Exports (Billions, Current Dollars)
Source: U.S. Census

With respect to imports, the same picture emerges (Figure 2). The decline in imports from China is large at -20%, but so are those for Canada and Mexico at -19% and -21% respectively. For Germany and Japan the numbers are -11% and -17%. As the U.S. grows out of the recession, we expect there to be an increase in imports across the board. However, our forecast is for households to save more in order to repair their personal balance sheets. As much of the imports from China are for discretionary consumption, the rebound might be less than that for other countries. In Figures 1 and 2 the next 15 trading partners are displayed, but as is seen in the charts, these are small relative to the top five, and therefore not as consequential.

Figure 2. U.S. Major Trading Partners by Imports (Billions, Current Dollars)
Figure 2. U.S. Major Trading Partners by Imports (Billions, Current Dollars)
Source: U.S. Census

How does this relate to the Phase One agreement? In the agreement, China is to purchase up to $263 billion of goods and services from the U.S. in 2020. Recall that the agreement had language that allowed for circumstances in which the trade quotas were likely not to be met. In terms of goods, as of the first five months, China completed only 23% of the annual target. In part the suspension of ship and air traffic between the two countries due to the pandemic is to blame. A fall in commodity prices also contributed. In addition, China went into a recession and the agreement does not mandate China to force its citizens to purchase more U.S. goods and services, particularly in tourism to the U.S. and education at U.S. colleges and universities.

Figure 3 presents the U.S. service sector exports to the world for the first five months of 2018, 2019 and 2020. The largest declines are in travel and in transport as a consequence of global pandemic travel restrictions at -41% and -33%. Though a breakdown by destination country is not available at this time, the lack of aggregate increases in service exports provides no evidence of significant purchases of U.S. financial services nor of IP licensing by Chinese firms. In short, the chance of China fulfilling the 2020 60% increase in imports goal is slim.

Figure 3. U.S. Services Exports to the World By Sector (Billions, Current Dollars)
Figure 3. U.S. Services Exports to the World By Sector (Billions, Current Dollars)
Note: The Other Business Services sector includes research and development services, legal, accounting, management consulting, public relations services, advertising services, architectural, engineering, scientific, and other technical services. Travel includes business travel expenditures and personal travel expenditures related to leisure, health and education. Transport includes fares for sea and air transport of passengers and freight. 
Source: Bureau of Economic Analysis

 

China Goods Exports and Imports

During the first five months of 2020, the sum of China’s world exports and imports declined by around 7.7% compared to 2019. That is a smaller reduction compared to total world U.S. exports (-15%) and imports (-12.6%). As shown in Figure 4, China exports to U.S. (-14%), Hong Kong (-13%), India (-25%), and U.K. (-15%) were larger than to other partners. Similar to U.S. exports shown in Figure 1, exports to Japan, South Korea, Vietnam, Taiwan, and Singapore only moderately declined and in some cases even increased. As these countries have had better control of the pandemic, household consumption has likely fallen less and is a factor in their import demand.

For China’s imports (Figure 5), the five largest partners are Taiwan, South Korea, Japan, Australia, and the U.S. While China’s imports declined from the U.S., South Korea, and Japan, imports from Taiwan and Australia did not. The latter two export intermediate and primary goods, and the data reflect early indications of China’s resumed economic growth.

Figure 4. China Major Trading Partners by Exports (Billions, Current Dollars)
Figure 4. China Major Trading Partners by Exports (Billions, Current Dollars)
Source: CEIC

 

Figure 5. China Major Trading Partners by Imports (Billions, Current Dollars)
Figure 5. China Major Trading Partners by Imports (Billions, Current Dollars) 
Source: CEIC

 

Conclusions

In the wake of the pandemic and the Hong Kong National Security Law, the fundamental difference in ideology between China and the West has resurfaced. In the past three decades of the golden era of globalization, the U.S. maintained an engaged economic and political relationship with China putting aside other differences. In today’s political sphere, those intimate ties have now lost ground. But in the economic sphere, there is as yet no indication of the same. Our current view is that the economic sphere is in the calm eye of the storm. The rationale stems from the implementation of the National Security Law by Beijing in spite of strong international pressure to not do it, and the fact that neither of the candidates in the U.S. election are taking a soft line with respect to China. We also expect the process of economic decoupling will be slow and that it will play out over a number of years.

 

 

download this report  

Download this report

  1. See: https://www.fbi.gov/news/speeches/the-threat-posed-by-the-chinese-government-and-the-chinese-communist-party-to-the-economic-and-national-security-of-the-united-states

 

About the report


Cathay Bank has established a sponsorship relationship with UCLA Anderson Forecast to produce a U.S.-China Economic Report. In this report, UCLA Anderson Forecast will talk about their view of economic analysis and perspective on the current and future outlook relating to the two largest economies in the world – the United States and China.

UCLA Anderson Forecast has been the leading independent economic forecast of both the U.S. and California economies for over 65 years. The annual report and quarterly columns written by UCLA Anderson Forecast will focus on current topics affecting investment flows and associated economic events between China and the United States.

This report includes forecasts, projections and other predictive statements that represent UCLA Anderson Forecast’s economic analysis and perspective on the current state and future outlook of the economies of The United States and China in light of currently available information. These forecasts are based on industry trends and other factors, and they involve risks, variables and uncertainties. This information is given in summary form and does not purport to be complete. Information in this report should not be considered as advice or a recommendation to you or your business in relation to taking a particular course of action and does not take into account your particular business objectives, financial situation or needs.

Readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on the forward-looking statements in this report. UCLA Anderson Forecast does not undertake any obligation to publicly release the result of any revisions to these forward-looking statements to reflect the occurrence of unanticipated events or circumstances after the date of this report. While due care has been used in the preparation of forecast information, actual results may vary in a materially positive or negative manner. Forecasts and hypothetical examples are subject to uncertainty and contingencies outside UCLA Anderson Forecast’s control.

 

About the authors


Jerry Nickelsburg, Director, UCLA Anderson Forecast

Jerry Nickelsburg joined the UCLA’s Anderson School of Management and The Anderson Forecast in 2006. Since 2017 he has been the Director of The Anderson Forecast. He teaches economics in the MBA program with a focus on Business Forecasting and on Asian economies. He has a Ph.D. in economics from the University of Minnesota and studied at The Virginia Military Institute and George Washington University. He is widely published and cited on issues related to economics and public policy.

 

William Yu, Economist, UCLA Anderson Forecast

William Yu joined the UCLA Anderson Forecast in 2011 as an economist. At Forecast he focuses on the economic modeling, forecasting and Los Angeles economy. He also conducts research and forecast on China’s economy, and its relationship with the US economy. His research interests include a wide range of economic and financial issues, such as time series econometrics, data analytics, stock, bond, real estate, and commodity price dynamics, human capital, and innovation.

Share This Article:

Share