跳转到主要内容

安全资讯中心

保护您的

财务信息

欢迎来到安全资讯中心

国泰银行致力为客人提供安全可靠的网上银行服务。在我们保安基础设施的监管下,您的帐户的安全地受到保障的。我们致力保护您的财务隐私,而您也能在这方面发展重要作用。阅读以下连结的文章,能助您保护个人财务信息,并确保您尽可能安全稳妥地的享用国泰银行网站提供的各项服务。

 

国泰银行如何保护您的个人资料

国泰银行明白保护客人的个人财务信息隐私的重要性。我们的目的是在处理客户个人资料时,包括前客户或寻求我们的产品或服务之客人,客人可保持对我们的信任及信心。我们仅收集及使用我们所需要的资料,用作提供优质的客户服务。这包括通知您有关的服务与产品、或其他您可能从中受惠的推广活动。(请点此处前往顾客隐私权声明页面)

 

为您提供安全的银行服务

不同浏览器的使用需要经过国泰银行审查和批准,以确保他们符合银行严格的安全标准。除了对浏览器的要求、密码和其他安全功能外,国泰银行亦会使用其他辅助方法,确保您在互联网上安全稳妥地使用我们的网上服务。我们有一个准确的身份验证过程,确保只有您才能收到自己要求的帐户资料。国泰银行使用防火墙系统,该系统只允许被授权人士进入。国泰银行透过DigiCert的数码伺服器证书进行电子身份验证。每当您使用网络浏览器登录国泰银行网站,此伺服器证书会保护从您的电脑发送至国泰银行系统的通信。国泰银行绝不会透过电邮或跳出视窗向客人要求机密资料。

 

银行帐户注意事项

为减低受到存款帐户相关的诈骗风险,当您收到对帐单时,请检查帐户余额。如果您没有按时收到帐单,请联系您
近分行,或登录国泰银行网站要求一份您的帐户活动的复本。当您检查完毕,请用碎纸机处理您的对帐单和/或收据。

安全资讯与提示

常见问题

什么是社交诈骗?

社交诈骗(Social engineering)是指操纵他人从事不法行为或教唆他人泄露机密资料。虽然与普通的骗局或简单的欺诈类似,但这个词通常指以收集资料诈骗或企图入侵他人电脑为目的之诡计或骗局;在大多数情况下,攻击者与受害者没有面对面的机会

  • 冒名电话(Pretexting)是透过电话对话﹐用一些预先编造的故事或借口﹐劝服目标受害人去做一些事﹐例如透露某些资料等。这当然不是一个简单的谎言,因为这个骗局常常涉及一些事先的调查和布局﹐并且会运用一些关于受害人的已知的个人资料(例如:出生日期、社会安全号码、最新帐单金额等)﹐令受害者相信这个骗局。
  • 网络钓鱼(Phishing)是一种骗取个人资料的技术。通常骗子会以一个合法的商业机构(例如银行或信用卡公司)的名义给受害者发送电邮,要求用户提供资料以作核实,并警告如不执行将承受严重后果。该电邮通常包含一个虚假网页链接,这个网页设计得看上去是合法的,既有公司标志又有其它内容,更附有表格要求填写包括家庭地址及提款卡密码在内的多种资料。
  • 电话诈骗(Phone-phishing or Vishing)复制其它银行或商业机构的自动语音电话系统(IVR)中的语音﹐来建立一个独立而略粗糙但让人感觉正规的电话系统。受害人会被要求(通常是通过网络钓鱼电邮)拨打电邮中提供的免费电话联系「银行」来「查核」电邮的真伪。通常这个系统会不断拒绝受害人登录,目的是令受害者多次重复输入个人识别码或密码,并经常要求受害者披露一些其它不同的密码。一些更先进的系统还会将受害者转移到假扮的顾客服务代表﹐被骗徒作进一步查问。
  • 利诱(Baiting)就像是现实世界中的特洛伊木马,它使用真实的物件作为媒介和利用受害者好奇或贪婪的心理。在这个骗局中﹐骗徒会故意将一些被病毒感染了的软盘、光盘或USB驱动器等﹐包装得很正规和贴上引人注目的标签﹐并遗留在一个显眼的地方在(例如洗手间、电梯、人行道、停车场),然后等待受害者使用这些装置。
  • 等价交换(Quid pro quo)骗徒随意拨打一些公司的电话号码﹐并声称自己是某技术维修部打来的。无论如何,骗徒总会遇到真正有技术问题并需要帮助的人,他甚至会感谢骗徒打电话回来帮助他们。骗徒会「帮助」他解决问题;在这过程中﹐骗徒也会要求用户输入指令,使他可以侵入该电脑或发放恶意病毒。举例﹐ 在一个资料安全问卷调查中﹐ 百分之九十的办公室员工会为了换取一支廉价的笔﹐愿意在回答问题中向调查人员提供他们的密码。尽管调查单位不会确认这些来电者﹐但近年来类似的问卷调查﹐无论是用巧克力还是其他廉价商品﹐都可以得到相似的结果。
  • 鱼叉式网络钓鱼(Spear phishing)是透过电邮﹐企图欺诈某些特定的组织或机构﹐寻求在未经授权的情况下进入其机密数据的机会。类同网络钓鱼中的惯常做法,鱼叉式网络钓鱼的电邮看似来自可靠来源。网络钓鱼邮件通常看起来是来自一家大型知名公司或是有广大会员基础的网站,例如eBay或PayPal。但是﹐在鱼叉式网络钓鱼中,电邮的来源表面上很可能是一家公司老板或管理阶层的个人邮箱。

您如何保护自己免于社交诈骗?

提高警觉是打击各种形式的身份盗用的有效武器。要了解骗徒盗窃资料的方法及保护自己的措施,要定期查阅您的个人资料,以便尽快发现任何问题;并且在您怀疑身份资料已被偷去时,您要知道该怎样做。

多了解相关资料,让知识武装自己,知道如何保护自己并怎样采取行动,便可以令社交诈骗罪犯无从入手。您亦可以透过教育您的朋友、家人和其它社区人士,大家一起对抗社交诈骗。

这里有一些提示,帮助您应付社交诈骗骗徒:

  • 询问他/她工作的公司
  • 问他/她为什么需要您的机密资料
  • 记下来电者的资料,并致电该公司覆核
  • 千万不要向陌生人透露您的社会安全号码、出生日期、密码和信用卡号码

应否在电邮中提供您的密码或用户名称?

国泰银行从来不会通过电邮或弹出窗口向客户索取机密资料。此外,国泰银行绝不会要求您提供密码。您也决不能和任何人分享您的密码。

诈骗电邮通常包含什么内容?

询问您的个人资料:欺诈电邮通常声称您的资料或帐户已经被入侵,并要求您确认进行过的交易。

看似来自合法来源:有些邮件很容易就被认定为欺诈邮件,但是也有一些欺诈邮件看似来自一个合法的地址和一个值得信赖的网站。绝对不要相信发件人的名称或地址,因为这些是很容易纂改的。

奖品:如果您完成一份包含您个人资料的问卷调查﹐一些欺诈性电邮会承诺给予您奖品或礼券。最好的做法是不要提供您的个人资料。但是﹐如果您决定提供任何资料,请确保您收到的奖金或礼券是由知名企业发出的。

欺诈网站链接:欺诈性电邮可以将您引导到一个经过精心设计,看似合法的欺诈网站,但该网站实际是从事收取个人资料等诈骗活动。

含有电脑病毒:欺诈电邮的附件可能含有电脑病毒。

含有欺诈电话号码:欺诈电邮通常包含一个能联系骗徒的电话号码。当您怀疑这是欺诈邮件﹐切勿拨打这个号码。

如果收到有国泰银行商标的可疑电邮,您应该怎么做?

犯罪分子可以很容易地窃取商标制造虚假商业电邮﹐欺骗事主透露他们的网上资料﹐这都是很普遍的。如果您认为您刚收到可疑的电邮,在您回覆该电邮之前﹐您可以致电我们的客户服务中心800-922-8429查询

如何判断电邮是否真正来自国泰银行?

如果您与我们没有银行业务关系,我们不会通过电邮或弹出窗口询问您的个人或机密资料。这些可能是诈欺电邮,试图收集您的个人资料进行身份盗用 。

如果您遇到可疑的电邮、网站、或弹出窗口,声称与国泰银行有关系,请立即致电800-922-8429举报。您也可以将相关资料发到我们的信箱 [email protected]

您没有国泰银行帐户,为什么会收到关于您的国泰银行帐户的电邮?

如果您没有使用我们的服务,我们不会通过电邮或弹出视窗向您索取您的个人或机密资料。此类电邮可能在试图收集您的个人或机密资料,进行身份盗用。

如果您收到声称与国泰银行相关的可疑电邮、网站或未经要求的弹出视窗,请立即通知我们,电话800-922-8429。您也可以把资料转发至我们的电邮:[email protected]

什么是身份盗用?

身份盗用是指有人在未经您授权的情况下,使用您的个人识别资料、例如您的姓名、社会安全号码、或信用卡号码进行诈骗或其他犯罪行为。

如果您的身份已遭盗用,您应该怎样做?

如果您收到了类似上述含有支票的邮件,请不要兑现该支票,也不要存入您的银行帐户。如果您已经兑现或存入这张支票,您应立即联络您的银行/分行,并告知他们该支票是假的。如果您是这类骗局的受害者﹐请连络当地警察部门寻求协助

国泰银行是否在其网站上使用记忆文字档(cookie)?

我们可能会在网页植入「cookies」,以追踪访客如何使用我们的网站。 Cookie 是存储在您的硬盘的一条数据。它占用的系统空间很小,能帮助我们客制化网站服务、提供更好的浏览体验。我们使用 cookies 来估计我们的网站流量以及哪个版面浏览人数最多。除非您注册使用我们的服务(例如我们的网上银行服务),否则 cookies 不会向我们提供您的任何个人身份信息,例如您的姓名或地址。

浏览我们的「收集和共享非公开个人信息」页面。

Cathay Bank

由于电子邮件并非保密渠道

通过此链接发送给我们的任何电子邮件中,请勿包含敏感信息,如帐户号码或其他个人信息(如社会安全号、税号、驾照号码等)。

Skip to main content

Security Information Center

Safeguard your

financial information

Welcome to our Security Information Center

Cathay Bank is committed to providing a safe and secure online banking environment for our customers. With our online banking security infrastructure, you can be confident that access to your accounts is private and secure. While Cathay Bank works to protect your banking privacy, you also play a key role in safeguarding your personal financial information and accounts. The links below provide information that can assist you with protecting your personal financial information and ensuring that your banking experience on the Cathay Bank Internet site is as safe and secure as possible.

 

How Cathay Bank protects your information

Cathay Bank recognizes the importance of protecting the privacy of our customers’ personal financial information. Our goal is to maintain the trust and confidence of our customers when handling their personal information, as well as that of our prior customers, and other individual consumers who obtain or request a financial product or service from us. We only collect and use the information we need to deliver the high level of customer service you have come to expect, including informing you about products, services and other opportunities that may be of benefit to you. Please click to be taken to our privacy policy page. 

 

Keeping your banking experience safe

Cathay Bank reviews and approves the use of different browsers to ensure that they meet the bank's strict security standards. In addition to browser requirements, passwords and other safety features, Cathay Bank uses other methods to help ensure that your banking experience on the Internet is safe and secure. We have a precise authentication process to ensure that when you request information on your account, only you receive the information. Cathay Bank's systems are protected by what's called a "firewall," allowing entry only to those who are authorized. For digital identity verification, we have a Cathay Bank digital server certificate by DigiCert that your browser uses each time you sign on to protect the communication from your computer to Cathay Bank’s systems. Cathay Bank will never request confidential information from customers via email or pop-up windows.

 

Bank account precautions

To reduce deposit account fraud, balance your account when you receive your statements. If you don't receive one when expected, contact your local branch or go online at cathaybank.com to get a copy of your activity. Shred your statements and/or receipts once you are done with them.

Security & Alerts

Frequently Asked Questions

What is social engineering?

Social engineering is the act of manipulating people into performing actions or divulging confidential information. While similar to a confidence trick or simple fraud, the term typically applies to trickery or deception for the purpose of information gathering, fraud or computer system access; in most cases, the attacker never comes face-to-face with the victim.

  • Pretexting is the act of creating and using an invented scenario (the pretext) to persuade a targeted victim to release information or perform an action and is typically done over the telephone. It is more than a simple lie as it most often involves some prior research or set-up and the use of pieces of known information (e.g. for impersonation: date of birth, Social Security Number, last bill amount) to establish legitimacy in the mind of the target.
  • Phishing is a technique of fraudulently obtaining private information. Typically, the phisher sends an e-mail that appears to come from a legitimate business—a bank or credit card company—requesting "verification" of information and warning of some dire consequence if it is not provided. The e-mail usually contains a link to a fraudulent web page that seems legitimate—with company logos and content—and has a form requesting everything from a home address to an ATM card's PIN.
  • Phone-phishing or Vishing uses a rogue Interactive voice response (IVR) system to recreate a legitimate sounding copy of a bank or other institution's IVR system. The victim is prompted (typically via a phishing e-mail) to call in to the "bank" via a (ideally toll free) number provided in order to "verify" information. A typical system will reject log-ins continually, ensuring the victim enters PINs or passwords multiple times, often disclosing several different passwords. More advanced systems transfer the victim to the attacker posing as a customer service agent for further questioning.
  • Baiting is like the real-world Trojan Horse that uses physical media and relies on the curiosity or greed of the victim. In this attack, the attacker leaves a malware infected floppy disk, CD ROM or USB flash drive in a location sure to be found (bathroom, elevator, sidewalk, parking lot), gives it a legitimate looking and curiosity-piquing label, and simply waits for the victim to use the device.
  • Quid pro quo means something for something: An attacker calls random numbers at a company claiming to be calling back from technical support. Eventually they will hit someone with a legitimate problem, grateful that someone is calling back to help them. The attacker will "help" solve the problem and in the process have the user type commands that give the attacker access or launch malware. For example, an information security survey revealed that 90% of office workers gave researchers what they claimed was their password in answer to a survey question in exchange for an inexpensive pen. Similar surveys in later years obtained similar results using chocolates and other inexpensive lures, although they made no attempt to validate the callers.
  • Spear phishing is an e-mail spoofing fraud attempt that targets a specific organization, seeking unauthorized access to confidential data. As with the e-mail messages used in regular phishing expeditions, spear phishing messages appear to come from a trusted source. Phishing messages usually appear to come from a large and well-known company or website with a broad membership base, such as eBay or PayPal. In the case of spear phishing, however, the apparent source of the e-mail is likely to be an individual within the recipient's own company and generally someone in a position of authority.

How do you protect yourself against social engineering?

Awareness is an effective weapon against many forms of identity theft. Be aware of how information is stolen and what you can do to protect yours, monitor your personal information to uncover any problems quickly and know what to do when you suspect your identity has been stolen.

Armed with the knowledge of how to protect yourself and take action, you can make social engineering thieves' jobs much more difficult. You can also help fight social engineering by educating your friends, family and members of your community.

Here are some tips on how to fight a social engineering call attempt:

  • Ask the requestor which company he/she works for;
  • Question why he/she needs your confidential information;
  • Take down the caller information and call the company to double check;
  • Be careful not to disclose your Social Security number, birth date, PIN, credit card, etc. numbers to strangers.

Should you provide your password or user ID in an e-mail?

Cathay Bank does not request confidential information from customers via e-mail or pop-up windows. In addition, Cathay Bank will never ask you for your password. You should safeguard and not share your password with anyone.

What do fraudulent e-mails usually contain?

Ask you for personal information. Fraudulent e-mails often claim that your information or account has been compromised and ask you to confirm the authenticity of your transactions.

Appear to come from a legitimate source. While some e-mails are easily identified as fraudulent, others may appear to come from a legitimate address and a trusted website. Never rely on the name or address in the "From" field, as this is easily altered.

Prizes. Some fraudulent e-mails promise a prize or gift certificate if you complete a survey that may ask for your personal information. It is best to not give your personal information. If you decide to provide any information, always confirm that the prize or gift certificate is being issued from a well-known company.

Link to fraudulent websites. Fraudulent e-mails may direct you to counterfeit websites carefully designed to look legitimate, but which actually collect personal information for fraudulent use.

Contain computer viruses. Fraudulent e-mails may include attachments that contain computer viruses.

Contain fraudulent phone numbers. Fraudulent e-mails often contain telephone numbers that are tied to the fraudsters. You should never call a number featured on an e-mail you suspect is fraudulent.

What should you do if you are suspicious of an e-mail with the Cathay Bank logo?

It is fairly common and easy for criminals to steal company logos and generate fake business e-mails, coercing the victims to disclose their online credentials. If you believe you have just received such a suspicious e-mail, you can call us at our customer service number 800-922-8429 to confirm before responding.

How do you tell if an e-mail from Cathay Bank is legitimate?

Cathay Bank may send promotional product information to our customers via e-mail occasionally but we do not request non-public information from customers via e-mail or pop-up windows.

If you encounter a suspicious e-mail, website or unsolicited pop-up window that claims affiliation with Cathay Bank, please report it to us immediately at 800-922-8429. You may also forward the information to us at [email protected]

You do not have an account with Cathay Bank, but getting e-mails about your Cathay Bank accounts. Why does this happen?

If you do not have a banking relationship with us, we will not inquire about your personal or confidential information via e-mail or pop-up windows. You should consider the intent of such e-mail as an attempt to collect your personal or confidential information to conduct identity theft.

If you encounter a suspicious e-mail, website or unsolicited pop-up window that claims affiliation with Cathay Bank, please report it to us immediately at 800-922-8429. You may also forward the information to us at [email protected]

What is Identity Theft?

Identity theft occurs when someone uses your personally identifying information, like your name, Social Security number, or credit card number without your permission to commit fraud or other crimes.

What should you do if your identity is stolen?

Should you receive a letter and check in the mail that is similar to those described above, do not cash or deposit the check into your bank account. If you have already cashed or deposited this check, you should immediately contact your bank/branch and inform them that the check is counterfeit. If you are a victim of these scams, you should contact your local police department for further instructions.

Does Cathay Bank use cookies on its website?

We may place “cookies” on a computer to track a visitor’s use of our website. A cookie is a piece of data that is stored on your hard drive. It takes up very little space on your system and helps us to customize our site and make its navigation easier for you. We sometimes use cookies to help estimate the number of visitors to our site and to determine which areas are the most popular. Unless you register with us for a service (such as our Online Banking Service), the cookie does not provide us with any personally identifying information about you, such as your name or address.  

Visit our Collection and sharing of nonpublic personal information page.

Cathay Bank

Email communication is not secure

Please do not include sensitive information such as account numbers or other personal information such as Social Security or Tax Identification numbers, driver’s license numbers, etc. in any email sent to us via this link.