移至主內容

遠瞻

如何讀懂您的信用報告

2018年的WalletHub調查指出,僅41%的人會每年至少查看一次自己的信用報告,但84%的人認為他們應該要查看得更加頻繁。

比例低的原因說明人們對信用報告和評分缺乏了解:27%的人表示自己沒時間更頻繁地查看報告;35%的人表示不想花錢看報告,儘管獲取報告是免費的;14%的人表示不敢看報告內容。

 

如何讀懂您的信用報告

信用報告一般是為放款者及金融業者而設,讓他們在審核貸款申請時用作參考。這類報告並不是為一般人閱讀而設計的。然而,財務穩健的美國人越來越多;他們希望透過檢查自己的信用報告,更有效地掌握自己的信用命運。

從以下範本看得出,閱讀信用報告並不容易。

How to read a credit report
資料來源:https://www.gobankingrates.com/credit/credit-report/read-credit-report/

 

Operation HOPE Inc. 理財導師Nghi Trang提供以下見解,並把信用報告分為四部份。

 

細分信用報告

信用報告內容主要分為四部份:

1. 個人資料

這部份會列出您的姓名和別名、社會安全號碼、出生日期、就業資料及現在和過去的地址。您需檢查這個部份的信息,確保資料正確無誤。如果您的姓名就像John Smith或Maria Garcia般較常見,請格外注意。因为這類情況下,資料很容易會被混淆。

如果您需要修改這部份的資料,您需要分别致函EquifaxTransUnion 和 Experian三間信用機構,指出錯處並提供正確資料。這些機構會要求您出示身份證明,因此請在信中附上駕照和社會安全卡的複本。

2. 公開記錄資料

這部份會列出任何破產、留置權或判決記錄。由於這些情況並不常見,所以這部份大多數是都是空白的。如果您在這部份發現不屬於您的資料,應立即聯繫三間信用機構,請對方將這些資料從您的信用報告中刪掉。

3. 債權人資料

由於這部份內容使用了不少代碼,所以可能是整個信用報告中最難看懂的。它列出了帳戶狀態(往來、可用、結清、託收或關閉)、責任(聯名或個人)、帳戶餘額、最近的付款、逾期資料(若適用)及信用額度。這部分的資料很多,所以用了不少代碼精簡資料,一般人閱讀時可能會一頭霧水。

簡而言之,最理想是在TransUnion 或 Experian 信用報告上看到「OK」這個字,Equifax 報告則是星號。這些代碼表示您的付款記錄沒有問題

4. 信用查詢

這部份會顯示曾經針對您的信用報告作出的硬性查詢。報告會列出曾為貸款申請查詢過信用報告的金融機構。

過多的硬性查詢會拉低您的信用評分,因為這表示您有需要借貸的傾向。查詢自己的信用報告則屬於軟性查詢,不會影響信用評分。

 

金融知識資源

如果您仍有疑問,坊間有不少資源可以為您提供信用報告方面的協助。

非營利組織Operation HOPE為社區提供免費的金融知識教育及一對一的信用諮詢服務。

Operation HOPE的理財導師會調出您的信用報告,仔細查閱每個部分。導師們還會協助您擬寫申辯信,糾正不正確的個人資料,或教導您如何協商及解決託收帳戶。他們會為您逐步解說針對身份盜竊的解決方式。以上的服務都是Operation HOPE免費提供。

如果您在查詢自己的信用報告後不知所措、遭拒卻不清楚原因,或已經很長時間未查看自己的信用報告,請向Operation HOPE的理財導師尋求協助。

請瀏覽http://operationhope.org/map查閱Operation HOPE在美國各地的辦事處位置。Operation HOPE的加州橙縣辦事處與國泰銀行Westminster分行在同一棟大樓:

Operation HOPE

HOPE Inside Westminster Cathay Bank
9121 Bolsa Avenue Suite 202
Westminster, CA 92683
657-200-5073

[email protected]

 

 

相關鏈接:

Operation HOPE是獨立的第三方,與國泰銀行和國泰萬通金控公司無關。

本文不構成法律、會計或其他專業建議。本文所含資訊力求準確,但國泰銀行不對任何因依賴這份資訊所致之損失或損害負責。

Share This Article:

分享此文章

Skip to main content

Insights by Cathay

How to read and understand your credit report

According to the 2018 WalletHub survey, only 41% of people check their credit reports more than once a year, though 84% say they know they should be checking more often.

The reason for the low percentage shows a lack of understanding of credit reports and scores: 27% said they do not have time to check their reports more often; 35% said they did not want to be charged for reading it, though free credit reports are available; and 14% said they were afraid to see what would be in the report.

 

How to Understand Your Credit Report

Credit reports are typically generated for lenders and financial professionals to review to determine loan application decisions. These reports are not designed for the average person to read. However, as more Americans become financially sound and want to take charge of their own credit destiny, they are pulling their credit reports for their own review.

In the sample credit report below, you can see how complex a credit report is to read.

How to read a credit report
Source: https://www.gobankingrates.com/credit/credit-report/read-credit-report/

 

Nghi Trang, financial well-being coach for Operation HOPE Inc., provides some insights and breaks down the components of a credit report into four sections.

 

Breaking Down the Credit Report

Your credit report can be broken down into four main categories:

1. Personal information

This section will list your name and aliases, Social Security number, date of birth, employment data, and current and previous addresses. You should review this section to make sure your information is correct. Be extra cautious if your name is very common, like John Smith or Maria Garcia. Information can easily be mixed up in situations like these.

If you need to make any corrections in this section, you will need to write a letter to each of the three credit bureaus (EquifaxTransUnion, and Experian) to state the error and what the correct information should be. The agencies will require proof of identity, so include a copy of your driver’s license and Social Security card with your letter.

2. Public record information

This section will list any bankruptcies, liens, or judgments you have had. Most people will find this section empty because these are not common situations. If you see anything in this section that does not belong to you, immediately contact the three credit bureaus to ask them to remove these items from your credit report.

3. Creditor information

Because of the codes used in this section, this is the most confusing part of your credit report. This section lists the status of the account (current, open, closed, collections, or charged off), responsibility (joint or individual), account balance, most recent payment, past-due information (if applicable), and credit limit. There is a lot of information in this section, so codes are used to make it more compact; however, when it comes to reading it, the average person will be lost.

In the simplest terms, you want to see an "OK" on your TransUnion or Experian credit reports or an asterisk on your Equifax report. These indicators show that there is no problem with your payment history.

4. Credit inquiries

This section will show all the hard inquiries that have been run on your credit report. It lists the dates and names of the financial institutions that pulled your credit report for a loan application.

Too many hard inquiries will lower your credit score because it establishes a trend that you are in need of borrowing. When you pull your own credit report for review, it is a soft credit pull and will not affect your credit score.

 

Resources for Financial Literacy

If you still need help with your credit report, you are not alone. There are resources available to help you navigate this process.

Operation HOPE is a nonprofit organization that provides free financial literacy workshops and one-on-one credit counseling to the community.

An Operation HOPE financial well-being coach will pull your credit report and review each section line by line. The coach will help you draft dispute letters for any incorrect personal information or show you how to negotiate deals to resolve collections accounts. The coach will provide step-by-step identity theft resolutions. Operation HOPE provides these services free of charge.

If you have pulled your credit report and feel overwhelmed, if you were declined and cannot figure out why, or if you have not checked your credit report in a long time, reach out to an Operation HOPE financial well-being coach for help.

To find Operation HOPE locations throughout the United States, visit http://operationhope.org/map. In Orange County, California, visit the Operation HOPE in the same building as our Westminster branch:

Operation HOPE

HOPE Inside Westminster Cathay Bank
9121 Bolsa Avenue Suite 202
Westminster, CA 92683
657-200-5073

[email protected]

Operation HOPE is an independent third party unrelated to Cathay Bank and Cathay General Bancorp.

This article does not constitute legal, accounting or other professional advice. Although the information contained herein is intended to be accurate, Cathay Bank does not assume liability for loss or damage due to reliance on such information.

Share This Article:

Share