移至主內容

遠瞻

為什麼住宅市場的需求依然如此旺盛

當許多其他行業陷入困境時,住宅市場在2020年欣欣向榮;事實上,去年全國房價上漲近11%,在經濟衰退期間,這是非常罕見的指標。這一勢頭已延續至2021年。

多個因素促成了住房市場的表現。在低利率環境中,人們在封鎖期間尋找更大房屋,用於居家辦公,住宅物業銷售額全面騰飛。去年銷售額呈上升趨勢,近期似乎並未顯示出任何放緩的跡象。Pew Research的數據顯示,自2020年第一季度以來,美國住房市場淨增長160萬房主。

促成住宅市場需求激增的因素包括:

  • 美聯儲貨幣政策下的低利率
    美聯儲保持低利率,以幫助刺激經濟增長。這為美國人利用低利率購買房屋創造了一個黃金機會。2021年1月初,30年期固定利率房屋貸款的平均利率為2.65%,是50年來的最低點。低利率環境導致那些已考慮購買房屋的人更加爭先恐後。
  • 渴望長期遠程工作
    對於那些曾有機會在家遠程工作的員工,如有選擇,許多員工現在不願意返回實地辦公。這種希望留在家中的願望已促使一些人考慮購買更大的住宅,以適應長期居家工作的生活方式。這些買家主要尋找更大的房屋,即擁有更多房間、更大面積,以及足夠的額外空間,作為家庭辦公或健身使用。

在整個美國對住宅物業的需求日益增長的期間,住房市場對此作出瞭如下反應:

  • 大規模遷往郊區
    在從任何地方都可工作的世界中,人們紛紛湧向郊區,在保留市區工作及薪酬的同時,享受更大的住房空間和郊區生活。事實上,2020年7月,大型住房的銷售額同比增長21%。雖然對市區而言,步行便利仍是一大優勢,但消費者偏好已轉而關心在家工作時個人空間的重要性。
  • 低庫存
    住房供應未能跟上需求。2021年4月,Freddie Mac發現美國住房市場需求超出供應380萬套,原因是過去十年來房屋建設不足。全國許多地區的住房存量創下歷史新低。
  • 數字購房興起
    安全疑慮催生了購房者通過虛擬的方式「查看」預期房屋的潮流,也導致了房屋銷售速度比以前更快。鑑於保持社交距離的要求和實地看房日的限制,加上一些賣家擔憂親自到場會引發的問題,房地產代理商作出調整,在Instagram上發布照片和視頻、虛擬現實之旅和探視、FaceTime之旅和其他數字解決方案。這種展示房屋的新方式加快了買家的決策速度,減少走動意味著現在作出決定僅需要數小時,而非數天。

 

住房市場預測

到目前為止,房地產市場的勢頭已從2020年延續至2021年。買家仍渴望在可能的情況下,利用低利率。同時,今年房價可能會飆升至新高:Redfin報告稱,2021年3月的房價同比增長16.7%Realtor.com預測,對於2021年的住宅市場,該趨勢將持續,但會放緩。Zillow預測2021年主要城市的住房市場需求將進一步激增,預計到2021年底住房銷售量將達到年增長21.9%或總銷量逼近690萬套

您是否正在計劃置業?請查看我們的房屋貸款計算機,並了解您每月可能支付的按揭貸款金額。

 

 

相關鏈接:

本文不構成法律、會計或其他專業建議。本文所含資訊力求準確,但國泰銀行不對任何因依賴這份資訊所致之損失或損害負責。

Share This Article:

分享此文章
Social share image

Skip to main content

Insights by Cathay

Why demand in the residential housing market is still so high

While many other industries struggled, the residential housing market grew significantly in 2020; in fact, national home prices rose nearly 11% , a very uncommon metric during an economic downturn. The momentum has continued into 2021.

A handful of factors contributed to the housing market’s performance. In a low interest rate environment, people looking for larger homes during the lockdown, and work-from-home arrangements, residential property sales completely took off. Sales have been on an upward trend over the past year, and do not appear to show signs of slowing down any time soon. The U.S. housing market has seen a 1.6 million net increase in homeowners since first-quarter 2020, according to Pew Research.

Factors contributing to the high demand residential housing market include:

  • Low interest rates (thanks to Fed monetary policy)
    The Federal Reserve kept interest rate low to help stimulate economic growth. This created a golden opportunity for Americans to take advantage of the low interest rates to buy homes. In early January 2021, the average mortgage interest rate for a 30-year, fixed-rate mortgage was 2.65%, which marked its 50-year low. The low interest rate environment contributed to a heightened “fear of missing out” among those who were already considering buying a home.
  • Desire for longer-term remote work
    For those who were given the option to work remotely from home, many employees are now reluctant to return back to a physical office location, if given the choice. This desire to remain home has led some to consider purchasing a larger home to accommodate a longer-term work-from-home lifestyle. These buyers have primarily sought out a larger homes, with more rooms, more square footage, and enough extra space for a home office or gym.

Amid the increasing demand for residential property across the U.S., the housing market has reacted in these ways:

  • Mass relocation to the suburbs
    In a work-from-anywhere world, people are moving en masse to the suburbs, where they could enjoy larger homes and suburban living while keeping their city jobs (and city pay). In fact, sales of large homes were up 21% year over year nationwide in July 2020. While walkability is still a plus for cities, consumer preferences shifted to the importance of personal space while working from home.
  • Low inventory
    Housing supply has not been able to catch up with demand. In April 2021, Freddie Mac found that U.S. housing market demand exceeded supply by 3.8 million homes, attributed to the underbuilding of homes over the past decade. In many regions of the country, home inventory has reached record lows.
  • Rise of digital homebuying
    Safety concerns have bred a movement for homebuyers to virtually “tour” prospective homes, causing homes to sell faster than before. With social distancing requirements and open house restrictions, in addition to some sellers worried about in-person showing, real estate agents adapted with photos and videos posted to Instagram, virtual reality tours and walkthroughs, FaceTime tours, and other digital solutions. This new way of showing homes yielded quicker buyer decisions; reduced legwork means decisions now only require hours rather than days.

 

Housing market projections

The momentum of the housing market has so far carried over from 2020 into 2021. Buyers are still eager to take advantage of low interest rates while they still can. Meanwhile, home prices may skyrocket to new highs this year: Redfin reported that home prices in March 2021 had risen 16.7% year-over-year, and Realtor.com predicts the trend will continue but at a slower pace in the residential housing market throughout 2021. Zillow predicts 2021 demand in the housing market will see an extra surge in major cities and forecasts a 21.9% annual growth of home sales or a total of nearly 6.9 million homes sold by the end of 2021.

Are you in the market for a home? Check out our mortgage loan calculator and give yourself some idea of what your potential monthly mortgage payments could be.

 

 

Related links:

This article does not constitute legal, accounting or other professional advice. Although the information contained herein is intended to be accurate, Cathay Bank does not assume liability for loss or damage due to reliance on such information.

Share This Article:

Share
Social share image