跳转到主要内容

远瞻

胡泽群40年屹立不倒的玩具王国

胡泽群(Charlie Woo)在儿童玩具行业建立了一个王国。但是,他记得,作为亚裔移民于1970年代在洛杉矶创办企业并不是儿童游戏般的简单。

1969年,胡先生及家人迁往南加州,他在加利福尼亚大学洛杉矶分校(UCLA)攻读物理学博士学位,梦想成为一名科学家。为了帮助创业的家人在洛杉矶唐人街开办玩具业务,他改变了原来的学习计划,在洛杉矶唐人街经营一家初创公司,由此尝到了创业的乐趣。

胡先生努力发展家族公司,将业务扩大到了本地华裔美国人客户群范围之外。他需要贷款扩大业务, 但当时几乎没有银行愿意接纳亚裔移民客户;国泰银行是唯一一家为他的商业提案提供机会的银行。

“没有国泰银行,我甚至无法购车,因为我无法获得汽车贷款,”胡先生说。“没有国泰银行,我无法发展自己的企业!”

因此,胡先生安排与当时的国泰银行总裁程达民(George T.M. Ching)会面。他们详细讨论并交流了见解。胡先生分享了他对品牌的愿景及展望。程先生对胡先生的拓展计划提供了意见,胡先生满怀感激地接纳。在最需要财务支持的时候,胡先生难以忘记国泰银行向他提供的机会。

 

为儿童带来乐趣,为洛杉矶提供商业和工作机会

如今,胡先生是国际领先的玩具制造和批发公司Megatoys的联合创始人兼首席执行官。Megatoys于1989年创办,是胡先生家人原创公司的延申它以极具竞争力的价格提供优质玩具,为美国国内和海外市场服务,从而赢得了声誉。

胡先生指出,如果没有得到来自国泰银行这样的先驱企业的帮助,他和华人社区的其他远见人士就不会有赖以繁荣发展的资源。胡先生目前在洛杉矶雇用约700名员工,使他的公司成为洛杉矶人值得信赖的雇主。

胡先生积极帮助寻求发展公司和在全球开展竞争的同行企业家。他被称为洛杉矶市中心玩具区的首领人物,是洛杉矶地区商会的首位亚裔美国人主席,并曾被《纽约时报》和《福布斯》杂志报道。

 

提供无与伦比的企业银行业务解决方案

深入了解国泰银行为贵公司提供的商业银行解决方案。成为下一个成功故事中的创业者。开始享受本次限时优惠

 

 

相关链接:

本介绍文是由客户自愿提供,该客户未获得报酬或提供免费产品或任何其他利益以换取此文章描述。

Share This Article:

分享此文章
Social share image

Skip to main content

Insights by Cathay

How did Charlie Woo turn fun and games into a 40-year-old business?

Charlie Woo built an empire around children’s playthings. But he remembers starting a business as an Asian immigrant in Los Angeles in the ’70s was not all fun and games.

Woo and his family moved to Southern California in 1969, where he enrolled at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), as a Ph.D. student in physics, in pursuit to become a scientist. He derailed his studies to help his entrepreneurial family launch a toy business in Los Angeles Chinatown, where he found joy running a startup company.

Woo worked hard to grow the family company beyond its local Chinese American customer base. He needed a loan to expand the business at a time when few banks were willing to entertain Asian immigrants; the only bank that gave his business proposal a chance was Cathay Bank.

“Without Cathay Bank, I could not even get a car, because I couldn’t get a car loan,” Woo says. “Without Cathay Bank, I couldn’t grow our own business!”

So, Woo arranged a meeting with George T.M. Ching, President of Cathay Bank at the time. They discussed at length and exchanged knowledge. Woo shared his vision of how to build out his brand. Ching provided Woo with comments on his expansion plan, which Woo gratefully accepted. Woo never forgot the opportunity Cathay Bank provided him at a time when he needed financial support the most.

 

Bringing fun to children, and business and jobs to L.A.

Today, Woo is the co-founder and CEO of Megatoys, a leading international toy manufacturing and wholesale company. Megatoys launched in 1989, as a natural offspring of the original company founded by the Woo Family, and earned a stellar reputation for delivering high-quality toys at competitive prices, serving the local U.S. and overseas marketplaces.

Woo is quick to point out that without the help of pioneers like Cathay Bank, he and other visionaries in the Chinese community would not have had the resources to thrive. Woo currently employs approximately 700 team members in Los Angeles, making his company a trusted employer among Angelenos.

Woo actively helps fellow entrepreneurs who seeks to grow their companies and compete globally. He is known as the Downtown Los Angeles Toy District’s patriarch, was the first Asian American chairperson of the Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce, and has been featured in The New York Times and Forbes.

 

Providing unsurpassed business banking solutions

Discover more about Cathay Bank’s business banking solutions for your company. Be the startup in the next success story. Get started with this limited-time offer.  

 

 

Related Links:

This testimonial was voluntarily provided by the customer, who was not paid or provided with free products or any other benefits in exchange for such.

Share This Article:

Share
Social share image