移至主內容

遠瞻

2022年房屋貸款申請文件檢查清單

申請房屋貸款是買房至為關鍵的第一步。然而,申請房屋貸款並非只是聯繫貸方並簽字這麼簡單。

 

申請房屋貸款前的須知事項

在申請房屋貸款之前,務必了解各種貸款類型。每種貸款類型均有各自的特點和資格要求。最常見的貸款類型包括:

  • 傳統貸款:從銀行或金融機構申請的、不受政府保險或擔保的標準房屋貸款。傳統貸款可通過各類貸款機構和信用合作社申請。對於信譽良好、大額首付款的借款人來說,這是種很好的方案。

  • 政府支持的貸款:由政府基金(例如聯邦住房局(FHA)和美國退伍軍人事務署(VA))提供支持的貸款。相比傳統貸款,他們通常對首付款和信用評分要求較低,並且有更多優惠條款和利率。然而,這種貸款要求您支付房屋保險預交保費(UFMIP)和房屋保險保費(MIP)(對於FHA貸款)和一次性基金費用(對於VA貸款)。

  • 大額貸款:對於所需融資額度超過聯邦住房金融局(FHFA)規定貸款額度的借款人來說,可以選擇申請大額貸款。上述貸款額度限制會逐年調整,且因所在州縣而異。對於美國大多數地區來說,2022年對單套家庭住房的貸款額度限制為647,200美元。此類貸款通常要求支付大額首付款。

利率因房屋類型而異。然而,此類貸款通常採用固定利率或浮動利率,每種利率方式各有優劣。與固定利率相比,申請浮動利率貸款也許可以獲得更優惠的初始匯率,但在整個貸款生命週期內,您也可能會由於指數調整導致的利率上下浮動而承受利率波動風險。固定利率貸款的利率在整個貸款生命週期內都不會改變,可預測性最強,但利率可能會偏高。

 

申請房屋貸款所需的七個文件

在批准貸款之前,貸款機構需要評估您是否能夠全額清償貸款(加上任何應計利息)。他們會要求您提供文件,證明您值得信任並且擁有償還貸款的財務手段。

1. 政府頒發的身份證件

第一項信息是身份證件,例如政府頒發的身份證、各州頒發的駕照或護照。貸款機構需要您證明您是您所聲明的借款人。

2. 收入證明

貸款機構希望了解您在貸款生命週期內有哪些手段來清償您的月供。貸款機構要求您提供收入證明,例如最近的工資存根(30天內)和過去兩年的W-2表格。

3. 報稅單

您的收入證明讓貸款機構得以了解您當前有收入來源。您的報稅單則可以更廣泛地反映您的財務健康狀況。通常,貸款機構會要求您提供過去兩個報告年度的報稅單。此文件有助於證明您在未來一段時間內保持穩定收入流的能力,讓貸款機構相信您能夠履行您的房屋貸款義務。

4. 銀行和資產對帳單

貸款機構通常要求您提供最近兩個月的銀行對帳單來證明您用於支付首付、借款手續費和房屋貸款準備金的資金來源。

房屋貸款準備金是指您可用於履行房屋貸款義務的額外流動資產。房屋貸款準備金要求因貸款目的、房產類型、信用評分、貸款收入比(DIT)和貸款計劃不同而不同。

5. 債務信息

貸款機構還需要深入了解您的債務信息。這有助於貸款機構確定貸款收入比(DIT),DIT是指您每月還貸額在您每月總收入中所佔的百分比,該指標有助於揭示您的借款風險。常見的債務義務包括信用卡還款、學生貸款還款、汽車貸款還款、子女撫養費、贍養費以及其他房地產的房屋貸款義務,等等。

6. 信用歷史記錄

您的信用歷史記錄表明您按期清償債務的表現情況。貸款機構要求訪問您的信用歷史記錄,以評估您是否有良好的還款記錄以及您清償債務的表現如何。對於傳統貸款,您通常需要至少達到620分的信用評分才有資格申請。政府支持的貸款(例如來自FHA或VA的貸款)對最低信用評分的要求通常較低。大額貸款通常對信用歷史記錄和信用評分的要求更高。

7. 租賃歷史記錄

您的租賃歷史記錄是決定您的可信度時需要掌握的另一關鍵信息。貸款機構可能會要求您提供您過去(及當前)的房東的姓名、電話號碼和地址。貸款機構可能會聯繫他們填寫租賃核驗表(VOR),以確認您是否按期支付房租。

收集所需文件的過程可能會比較冗長而繁瑣。國泰銀行隨時待命,確保您獲得卓越的體驗。

立即免費試用我們的房屋貸款計算機

 

 

相關鏈接:

本文不構成法律、會計或其他專業建議。本文所含資訊力求準確,但國泰銀行不對任何因依賴這份資訊所致之損失或損害負責。

Share This Article:

分享此文章
Social share image

Skip to main content

Insights by Cathay

Mortgage Application Document Checklist for 2022

Obtaining a mortgage is the critical first step to buying a house. Still, it can be more complicated than contacting a lender and signing on the dotted line.

 

What to Know Before Applying for a Mortgage

Before applying for a mortgage loan, it is important to understand the different types of mortgage loans available to you. Each type has its own characteristics and qualifying requirements. Some of the most common include:

  • Conventional Loans: The standard mortgage obtained from a bank or financial institution that is not insured or guaranteed by the government. Conventional loans can be obtained from numerous different lenders and credit unions. They are an excellent option for borrowers with a good credit history and larger down payment.
  • Government-backed Loans: Loans backed by government funding such as Federal Housing Administration (FHA) and Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). They typically require a lower down payment and credit score and have more favorable terms and rates than conventional loans. However, you would be required to pay an Upfront Mortgage Insurance Premium (UFMIP) and Mortgage Insurance Premium (MIP) for an FHA loan and a one-time funding fee for a VA loan.
  • Jumbo Loans: Jumbo mortgages are available to borrowers who need financing that exceeds the conforming loan limits set by the Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA).  The conforming loan limits are adjusted on an annual basis and vary by State and county. The limit in 2022 for Single Family Residence was set at $647,200 for most of the country.  This type of mortgage usually requires a larger down payment.

Interest rates vary based on the mortgage type. Still, they usually have fixed or variable rates, each with advantages and disadvantages. While obtaining a variable-rate mortgage might secure a more favorable introductory rate compared to fixed rates, you are also susceptible to rate fluctuations risk as rates become adjusted up or down based on an index throughout the life of the loan. Fixed-rate mortgage has an interest rate that does not change throughout the life of the loan, is most predictable but the rate tends to be higher.

 

The Seven Documents You Need to Get a Mortgage

Before a loan is approved, lenders need to evaluate whether you can repay your loan in full (plus any interest that accrues). They will ask for documents to show that you are trustworthy and have the financial means for repayment.

1. Government-issued Identification

The first piece of information is proof of identification, such as a government-issued identification card, a state driver’s license or a passport. Lenders want proof that you are who you say you are.

2. Proof of Income

Lenders want to know that you have the means to afford your monthly payment during the lifetime of your loan. You will be required to provide proof of income, such as a recent pay stub (within 30 days) and the Form W-2 for the past two years.

3. Tax Returns

Your proof of income lets lender know that you currently have an income. Still, your tax returns will provide a broader perspective of your financial health. Generally, you will be asked to provide tax returns for the past two reporting years. This document helps demonstrate your ability to maintain a steady stream of income over a period of time and give lenders the confidence that you can fulfill your mortgage obligation.n

4. Bank and Asset Statements

Lenders typically ask for two months’ recent bank statements as evidence to the source of funds to be used towards your down payment, closing costs, and mortgage payment reserves.  

Mortgage payment reserves are extra liquid assets you can use to meet your mortgage obligations. The payment reserves requirement varies depending on the loan purpose, property types, credit scores, debt-to-income (DTI) ratio, and the loan program.

5. Debt Information

It is important for lenders to have a good understanding of your debt obligations. This helps lenders determine the debt-to-income (DTI) ratio, which is the percentage of your gross monthly income used to pay monthly debts that helps indicate your borrowing risk. Typical debt obligations include debts such as credit card payments, student loan payments, car payments, child support, alimony, mortgage obligations on other real properties owned, etc.

6. Credit History

Your credit history shows how well you manage the repayment of debts. Lenders will request access to your credit history to assess whether you have a strong record of repayment and how well you manage your debts. For conventional loans, you generally need a credit score of at least 620 to qualify. Government-sponsored loans — like those from the FHA or VA — usually have lower minimum credit score requirements. Jumbo loans usually have a higher requirement on credit history and credit score.

7. Rental History

Your rental history is another critical piece of the puzzle when determining your creditworthiness. You might be asked to provide the name, phone number, and address of your past (and current) landlords. The lender may contact them to complete a Verification of Rent (VOR) to confirm if you have made your rent payments on time.   

 

The process of gathering the documents you need can be complicated and tedious. Cathay Bank is here to help you stay on track and ensure you get an excellent experience.

Try out our free Mortgage Loan Calculator today!

 

 

Related Links:

This article does not constitute legal, accounting or other professional advice. Although the information contained herein is intended to be accurate, Cathay Bank does not assume liability for loss or damage due to reliance on such information.

Share This Article:

Share
Social share image