跳转到主要内容

远瞻

房屋首购族:购房时向房屋贷款机构提出的问题

购买第一套房屋可能令您兴奋及激动,但也会给您带来很大压力。

特别是千禧代,他们面临着前几代没有的独特挑战。首次置业的概念曾经意指买一间比理想家园差得的房子,然后再逐步寻找一家能长久居住的物业。但这已经不再是一种常态,尤其是住在纽约的千禧代。他们可能人生中购买的第一套房产,可能就是他们长久居住的物业。

这次的目标是让房屋首购族对自己购买的房屋感到自信。然而,有 63% 的千禧代购房者对自己首次购买的房屋感到后悔。最常见的原因是许多购置者不了解购买和维护房产的成本。大多数购房者与房屋贷款机构合作获得贷款,因此关键在于做好准备,避免房屋首购族的常见错误,并了解自己的最佳房屋贷款选项。

 

购房时应考虑的问题

与房屋相关的最大成本是房屋贷款。作为房屋首购族,要思考几个房屋贷款常见问题:

1. 我是否备全了自己的所有财务资料?

要符合房屋贷款资格,您需要向银行或房屋贷款顾问展示您的财务资料,证明您有能力偿还贷款。确保您已经准备好贷款机构要求的相关文件(如 W-2、最近的工资单、过去两年的纳税申报表、银行对账单、投资报表等)。

2. 我是否有良好的信用评分或信用记录?

有良好的信用评分及记录除了让您有申请房屋贷款资格,更有助获得更好的利率。对一百万名 Credit Karma 会员进行的分析指出,取决于所在州不同,房屋首购族的平均信用评分 在 662 至 730 之间 。(最高分 850 分。)如果您没有良好的信用评分,您可能需要提供其它资产证明,如银行存款、上市股票或退休金帐户,以获得贷款。

3. 我能否负担得起房屋贷款?

使用在线房屋贷款计算器确定您每月可以支付多少房屋费用。记住把收入和债务都纳入考虑范围,包括财产税和灾害保险。

4. 首付最低多少钱?

理想情况下,首付是购房价格的 20%。传统贷款的最低要求为3%。联邦住房管理局 (FHA) 贷款要求首付 3.5%,而一些特殊贷款项目允许0%首付。考虑一下您有多少存款可以支付首付。

5. 我计划在这套住房居住多久?

您打算在自己的住房住多久决定您选择固定利率还是浮动利率。浮动利率随市场利率的变化而波动,而固定利率则在贷款期间不管市场如何变化都保持不变。如果利率低,而且您打算房子自住一段时间,那么最好锁定固定利率。

 

房屋首购族的常见错误

为保证购得满意住房,您一定要了解自己的支付能力。Zillow调查显示18 到34岁之间的业主中30%的人感觉房屋贷款还款金额太高。相比年长者,几乎一半人后悔当初仓促购房。

请花点时间了解持有和维护房产的成本,与贷款机构讨论所有有效选项,然后选择最符合您需求的一项。不用着急作出决定。

 

房屋首购族的最佳房屋贷款选项

现在购房者的家庭收入中位数为$72,500美元。他们有更多的房屋贷款选项,但一定要了解他们有资格申请的贷款类型。根据首付、资格和贷款担保方式的不同,有以下几种选择:

  • 传统贷款:这是一种没有政府机构担保或提供保险的传统贷款。
  • 大额贷款:这是一种专业贷款,您可以获得比常规贷款更高的贷款金额(2020 年贷款金额为 510,400 美元)。
  • FHA 贷款:这笔贷款由联邦住房管理局提供保险,首付金额低。
  • 退伍军人事务部贷款:该贷款由美国退伍军人事务部提供保险,为退伍军人和现役军人及其家人提供帮助。首付金额为0%。
  • 美国农业贷款部:该贷款被美国农业部提供保险,帮助符合条件的农村地区的购房者。

立即与贷款机构讨论有效选项,确认符合自己需求的选项,特别是房屋首购族计划。贷款机构通常会与政府机构合作,为房屋首购族提供帮助。这些计划可能包括教育资源、首付款帮助,甚至是利率折扣。

例如,国泰银行的社区购房者计划适用于房屋首购族和首付款资金有限的购房者。它允许购房者支付较低的首付,并通过非传统付款记录来证明信贷良好。

立即与我们的房屋贷款专员联系,了解国泰银行提供的贷款计划的更多信息,或在线提交申请

 

相关链接:

本文不构成法律、会计或其他专业建议。本文所含资讯力求准确,但国泰银行不对任何因依赖这份资讯所致之损失或损害负责。

Share This Article:

分享此文章

Skip to main content

Insights by Cathay

First-time homebuyers: Questions to ask a mortgage lender when buying a home

Buying your first home can be exciting and overwhelming, but it can also be stressful.

Millennials, in particular, face unique challenges that previous generations did not. The concept of a starter home — meant as a first purchase that is less desirable than a forever home — is no longer commonplace, and New York-based Millennials, in particular, are more likely to buy their first home later in life and stay in that property for longer.

The goal is for first-time homebuyers to feel confident about their acquisition, yet 63% of Millennial homebuyers have regrets about their first purchase. The most common reason for this is that many buyers do not understand the cost of buying and maintaining a home. Most homebuyers work with a mortgage lender to secure a loan, so the key is to be prepared, avoid the common mistakes of first-time homebuyers, and know your best mortgage options.

 

Questions to ask

The largest cost tied to a home is the mortgage. As a first-time buyer, there are several frequently asked mortgage questions to consider:

1. Do I have all my financial information?

To qualify for a mortgage loan, you will need to demonstrate your ability to repay the loan by showing the bank or mortgage advisor your financial information. Make sure you have applicable documents that are required by the lender (e.g., W-2s, recent pay stubs, the previous two years of tax returns, bank statements, investment statements, etc.) readily available.

2. Do I have a good credit score or credit history?

A high credit score and good credit history will likely qualify you for the mortgage loan and possibly help you obtain a better interest rate. An analysis of 1 million Credit Karma members determined that the average credit score for first-time homebuyers is between 662 and 730 — depending on the state they live in. (The maximum score is 850.) If you do not have good credit scores, you might need to leverage your other assets, such as bank deposits, publicly traded stocks, or retirement accounts, to secure a loan.

3. Can I afford the mortgage payments?

Use an online mortgage loan calculator to determine what you can afford to spend on your home each month. Consider your income and debts, including property taxes and hazard insurance.

4. What is the minimum required down payment?

The ideal down payment is 20% of the purchase price. The minimum requirement for a conventional loan is 3%. Federal Housing Administration (FHA) loans require 3.5% down, while some special loan programs allow for 0% down. Consider how much you have in savings available for a down payment.

5. How long do I plan to live in this home?

How long you plan to stay in your home helps determine if a fixed or variable interest rate is best for you. A variable rate fluctuates as the market interest rates change, whereas a fixed rate stays the same for the length of the loan, no matter what happens to the market. If interest rates are low and you plan to stay in your home for a while, it may be a good idea to lock in a fixed rate.

 

Common mistakes of first-time homebuyers

In order to remain satisfied with your home purchase, it is important to know your affordability level. A Zillow survey showed that 30% of homeowners between the ages of 18 and 34 felt their mortgage payments were too high. Nearly just as many said they regretted rushing into purchasing a home as compared to their older counterparts.

Take time to understand the costs to own and maintain a property. Speak with a lender about all the available options, then choose the one that best fits your needs. There is no rush.

 

The best mortgage options for first-time homebuyers

Buyers today earn a median household income of $72,500. They have more mortgage options available to them, but it is important to know the type of loans they are qualified for. The following options vary depending on the down payment, qualifications, and how the loan is insured:

  • Conventional loan: This is a traditional loan that is not guaranteed or insured by a government agency.
  • Jumbo loan: This is a type of specialty loan that allows you to borrow more than a conforming loan ($510,400 in 2020).
  • FHA loan: This loan is insured by the FHA and allows for low down payments.
  • Veterans Affairs loan: This loan is insured by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs and assists past and present members of the military and their families. Down payments are as low as 0%.
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture loan: This loan is insured by the USDA and assists purchasers of homes in eligible rural areas.

Speak with a lender today about the available options to see which one best suits your needs, especially first-time homebuyer programs. Often, lenders will work with state agencies to aid first-time homebuyers. These programs might include educational resources, down-payment help, or even rate discounts.

For example, Cathay Bank’s Community Home Buyer’s Program is for first-time homebuyers and homebuyers who have limited funds for down payments. It allows buyers to put up a lower down payment and use a nontraditional payment history to demonstrate good credit.

Talk to our mortgage loan originators today to find out more about the loan programs offered by Cathay Bank, or submit an application online.

 

Related links:

This article does not constitute legal, accounting, or other professional advice. Although the information contained herein is intended to be accurate, Cathay Bank does not assume liability for loss or damage due to reliance on such information.

Share This Article:

Share